cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USENET Too slow to work.

Garrettn
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 29-09-2007

USENET Too slow to work.

I have been trying to use usenet on plusnet for over a year with no success what so ever. It's only because i have the connection at work that i haven't complained much but now i am. Both easynews and giganews through nntp and http are too slow to even bring up the web page. It is quite clear to me that Plusnet are throttling the connection speed to these domains and probably all other usenet services. Is this the case for other people?
70 REPLIES
paulgul
Rising Star
Posts: 596
Fixes: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

USENET Too slow to work.

Usenet speeds in general can vary a lot depending on time of day etc. However this last couple of days they have been very bad. As far as web pages are concerned, the whole system seems very slow this evening even plusnet's portal, so I think they are having some serious problems. Speedtests are the only thing that give good results.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

USENET Too slow to work.

Hi,

What sort of account do you have? If it's Broadband Plus then that will be the reason for the slow speeds. Broadband Plus isn't designed for binary usenet (or P2P) and this type traffic gets the lowest priority on the network and will be slow, particularly at peak times.

Off peak it should be a bit faster as there's more bandwidth available, but if you are going to be using usenet regularly you would be best looking at either PAYG or Premier.
N/A

USENET Too slow to work.

I hope things work out, I've paid a years up front for easynews, and I was about to do the same with plusnet, but ever since these problems started I've put that on the back burner ( and now the BT news OMG! does'nt bear thinking about )

Can you point me to the nearest drain?
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

USENET Too slow to work.

Garrettn,

You're on Broadband Plus which means that you will never get a good experience for Usenet as the product simply isn't designed for it (and states so on the Product page). You would really want to look at moving to PAYG or Premier depending on your usage.
ceridwen
Grafter
Posts: 937
Registered: 14-10-2007

USENET Too slow to work.

Dear James,

I'm afraid it doesn't state that BB+ isn't suitable for usenet on the product page. What it states is that "Broadband Plus is not suitable for data-intensive applications such as file-sharing and large downloads" - the original poster is talking about not being able to access usenet per se, not about using it for data-intensive large downloading or file sharing.

Moreover on this page (http://www.plus.net/residential/broadband/broadband_home_features.shtml) there is a big tick against Plus and Usenet (for text newsgroups) but from the original post even this isn't working for the OP.

Matthew
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 12,808
Thanks: 636
Fixes: 62
Registered: 04-04-2007

USENET Too slow to work.

Where does the OP state that text Usenet isn't functioning?

On BB+ text Usenet should be fine. I had a large list of servers added to the priority queues some time ago (I can dig these out if necessary). Any binary servers (including http access) will not be very responsive at all on BB+

I would also consider binary Usenet to be pretty data intensive as far as downloading goes.



Kind Rgds,

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

ceridwen
Grafter
Posts: 937
Registered: 14-10-2007

USENET Too slow to work.

Quote
Where does the OP state that text Usenet isn't functioning?


Where does the OP state that his problems are purely with binary Usenet? That is purely an assumption on PN's part!

Indeed the OP states that "Both easynews and giganews through nntp and http are too slow to even bring up the web page" which suggests his problems are not just with binary downloads!

Matthew
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

USENET Too slow to work.

The Easynews site is definitely managed in line with Usenet on Broadband Plus which has been mentioned a few times.

The thread title states that it is extremely slow, which will be down to the product that he is on.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 12,808
Thanks: 636
Fixes: 62
Registered: 04-04-2007

USENET Too slow to work.

Quote
Quote
Where does the OP state that text Usenet isn't functioning?


Where does the OP state that his problems are purely with binary Usenet? That is purely an assumption on PN's part!


Perhaps not worded the best on my part. Any Usenet provider that carries binary groups will be very slow under BB+. Any text only providers will be fine. If the OP wants to use text Usenet then they can do so via our server - usenet.plus.net.

Rgds,

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,849
Thanks: 156
Fixes: 2
Registered: 05-04-2007

USENET Too slow to work.

Ah, sounds like an echo here Smiley

I raised this a couple of weeks ago - basically on Plus Easynews is essentially blocked via the Ellacoyas on http. Not just slow on peak and on bronze blah blah - nope in reality it takes a couple of minutes (if you're lucky) to load the homepage even at off-peak times, doesn't matter which metallic substance the queue is dressed up with.

Is there a reason why this site is blocked? Why can we not expect to at least be able to log into the site and download (subject to the cap on Plus) during off-peak? You encourage us to schedule downloads off-peak, so when we try to do this using an external binary Usenet provider (since you stopped providing this service yourselves) we are unable to do so because of the Ellacoya profile which has been configured.

I don't expect to download Gigs on a £15 a month account, however to pull of a couple of Mb off peak would be nice.

Not too much to ask is it?
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

USENET Too slow to work.

My understanding was that it was because it was possible to download a large amount of stuff from the website itself.

You know my feelings on your product type, Hunthome Wink
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,849
Thanks: 156
Fixes: 2
Registered: 05-04-2007

USENET Too slow to work.

I know James Smiley

Yep you can download a lot of stuff from the site, but my point is why can I not download a tiny bit of stuff from the site?

You can batter it, but why not just let the throttling kick in once the allowances are reached - which to be honest you could do easily on there if you wanted. However that is not my intention.

I can download Gigs via http from my work MSDN Subscription, so why isn't msdn.microsoft.com on the Ellacoya blacklist as well?

Does it cost the company any less to download x Gb at the same time from one http site, than it does another?

Applying common sense to that question, I am assuming No - in that case I can see no logic to blacklisting one http site because you could download a lot, and not blacklisting another where you also could.
ceridwen
Grafter
Posts: 937
Registered: 14-10-2007

USENET Too slow to work.

Quote
Perhaps not worded the best on my part. Any Usenet provider that carries binary groups will be very slow under BB+. Any text only providers will be fine.


That isn't how the BB+ product is described in your product specification:

In the table at http://www.plus.net/residential/broadband/broadband_home_features.shtml

The row "Usenet - Access text newsgroups" has a tick under BB+ - i.e. BB+ is described as suitable for accessing text newsgroups, so according to the product description BB+ should be suitable for accessing text news groups on any usenet server includinng giganews and easynews.

Matthew
Liam
Grafter
Posts: 2,083
Registered: 04-04-2007

USENET Too slow to work.

Does it say "Access 'any' text newsgroups?" - nope?

We offer usenet.plus.net - and you're free to use it with the Broadband Plus product.