cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The right to roam?

Stef
Grafter
Posts: 247
Registered: 13-08-2007

The right to roam?

Hi,

I've got three PLUSnet broadband accounts and about four dialup accounts, I have got one new user who wants to use her laptop around the country to download emails etc.

She wants to use dial-up but I see a problem?

It seems that PLUSnet dial-up accounts are now linked to single CLI's so how can she do this?

I want a dial up account that she can use that doesn't worry about originating CLI....

Can PLUSnet help?

Many thanks, Stefan

ps I know that you can change the CLI but that doesn't help because:

1/ You have to get on the web first to change it
2/ There is a delay before it is activated...
11 REPLIES
csogilvie
Grafter
Posts: 5,852
Registered: 04-04-2007

The right to roam?

I don't think the 0845 accounts require a CLI, but I could be wrong
Stef
Grafter
Posts: 247
Registered: 13-08-2007

The right to roam?

Quote
I don't think the 0845 accounts require a CLI, but I could be wrong


They never did, but they do seem to now :roll:
N/A

The right to roam?

The 0845 accounts have always required them IIRC. This is so that accountability can be made.

IE, you use it to spam, you can be tracked by the number you dialed from.

PAYG account however, are not tied to a single CLI. You can use the account no matter where you are, provided the line presents a CLI.
Stef
Grafter
Posts: 247
Registered: 13-08-2007

The right to roam?

Quote


PAYG account however, are not tied to a single CLI. You can use the account no matter where you are, provided the line presents a CLI.


I have three PAYG accounts and they all have a "MY CLI" account entry (?) restricted to one number only so I put 2 & 2 together and maybe made 5 :?

I may be being bounced for another reason (Huh) so I'll raise a ticket.

The error message I am getting is: Error691 - Access was denied because the username and/or password was invalid on the domain.
Stef
Grafter
Posts: 247
Registered: 13-08-2007

The right to roam?

Quote


I may be being bounced for another reason (Huh) so I'll raise a ticket.
.


Er,

Contact us not working: Shockedops:

Template Error: loadfile: While loading lights, /local/data/mis/doc_root/latest/support/servicestatus_lights.html does not exist or is empty.
Halted.

:roll:
csogilvie
Grafter
Posts: 5,852
Registered: 04-04-2007

The right to roam?

Erm, give it 10 mins or so.

Fixed here, btw.
lhorwath
Grafter
Posts: 1,248
Registered: 10-04-2007

The right to roam?

0845 numbers are not CLI dependant, but the number ringing from must be presented (ie not withheld). You could always try the username and password of "signup" as I've a feeling this doesn not check on CLI in any way.

regards

Luke
Stef
Grafter
Posts: 247
Registered: 13-08-2007

The right to roam?

Quote
0845 numbers are not CLI dependant


Ok accepted, but why then is there a "MY CLI" entry for Account Details for PAYG accounts? - Maybe this should be removed for 0845 accounts?

Quote
You could always try the username and password of "signup" as I've a feeling this doesn not check on CLI in any way.

regards

Luke


Yup that does work...

I'll try and raise my ticket again...
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

The right to roam?

Hi,

The My CLI is something that is used on both Connect and Broadband accounts. It's there for a couple of reasons mainly linked to broadband in that in can be used to check ADSL availability, plus if you upgrade to broadband during the upgrade process this is where the number is saved.
Stef
Grafter
Posts: 247
Registered: 13-08-2007

The right to roam?

Quote
I'll try and raise my ticket again...


I was advised to change the Plusnet phone no. and it all works fine now :roll:

Thanks, Stefan

Cheesy
Stef
Grafter
Posts: 247
Registered: 13-08-2007

The right to roam?

Sorry to raise the RED HERRING Shockedops: