cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sync speed v speedtest results

OldCoggers
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 08-10-2007

Sync speed v speedtest results

Hi Chaps,

I've recently been pleasantly surprised by my router syncing at higher rates than I have previously experienced, it's currently syncing at 5700.

I've run the Plusnet speed test and have results around the 2000 kbps (+/- 10%). I've also run the BT Speedtester and had the following:

Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
IP profile for your line is - 5000 kbps
DSL connection rate: 448 kbps(UP-STREAM) 5728 kbps(DOWN-STREAM)
Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 4445 kbps
(test run at 11.00am)

PlusNet stable rate check shows 5500Kbps.

My question is - should I be expecting better than the PlusNet speed test results with this sync rate? I thought I'd ask rather than just raise a call Smiley

Cheers
Phill
5 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 17,624
Thanks: 610
Fixes: 158
Registered: 05-04-2007

Sync speed v speedtest results

This sounds like the subject of the moment.... RWIN, I would advise having a look at this page and trying some of the tweaks using Dr TCP.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Help Team
OldCoggers
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 08-10-2007

Sync speed v speedtest results

Thanks for the quick response.

I've had a look at the page you suggested and tried pinging the bbc.co.uk website. I used an MTU of 1472 (the maximum it says to try) and the message got through without being fragmented. This appears to suggest that the MTU setting of 1500 (default for Windows) and the RWIN setting (dynamically calculated by XP) are the highest they can be - or am I missing something?
Cheers
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 12,800
Thanks: 630
Fixes: 62
Registered: 04-04-2007

Sync speed v speedtest results

Try playing around with some of the suggestions here.

Kind Rgds,

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

OldCoggers
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 08-10-2007

Sync speed v speedtest results

I've had a play with those settings and now my speed test results are showing 4500 Cheesy

I don't know why it's improved as the MTU is still 1500 (as set on my router) and XP will work out the RWIN automatically, but hey, it's better so thanks for the help
Cheers
Phill
chrisc
Grafter
Posts: 688
Registered: 19-04-2007

Sync speed v speedtest results

No problem. Glad we could help Cheesy