cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stalling broadband

N/A

Stalling broadband

Right, I'm not that technical but my broadband connection seems to keep "stalling" . I can happily browse the net for hours then suddenly nothing - it doesn't disconnect, it just doesn't connect to any pages or download any email.

I then try disconnecting and reconnecting but it won't connect to the server unless I reboot my computer. Then it works fine.

Any ideas what it could be? I haven't changed my computer set-up in any way so I'm at a loss? Shockedops:
8 REPLIES
Community Veteran

Stalling broadband

How long has this been happening? And what equipment do you use to connect to ADSL?

Thomas
N/A

Stalling broadband

It has started happening for about the last week or so. Although it has done it in the past.

Re connecting to ADSL I just use an external USB modem which is plugged directly into the phone socket.
Community Veteran

Stalling broadband

Hmm - I wonder... it could be something to do with the weather. Changes in temperature and other weather conditions affect the metals in the line, which therefore affects the quality of the signal down the line. However, that wouldn't explain why you can reconnect after rebooting...

The other option is that it could be a dodgy modem - USB modems are known to suffer from problems pertaining to lack of power from the PC's power supply unit, or general stability issues. However that wouldn't explain why it happens randomly...

:?

Thomas
N/A

Stalling broadband

It is puzzling isn't it? And v. annoying!

Guess I will have to think about maybe doing a reformat of my HD :shock: to see if that solves the problem.
Community Veteran

Stalling broadband

It could very well be a power issue with the USB modem.
Don't forget that the domestic mains supply is not constant during the whole day and does very quite a lot with the load put on by kettles etc.