cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speeds yet again

Eebuygum
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: 01-08-2007

Speeds yet again

Download speeds absolutely dire this afternoon, BT Speedtest reporting 230KBps, other speedtesters saying much the same.
Whats going on ?
39 REPLIES
fakesnake
Grafter
Posts: 30
Registered: 01-08-2007

Speeds yet again

hi. same thing here, gone from 6500 to 250KBps.
bobbygeorge
Grafter
Posts: 373
Registered: 30-07-2007

Speeds yet again

same here !!

quite disgraceful ..



wonder if it's anything to do with 'ptn-ag2'

for some reason I just simply cannot get off it despite constant reconnects.

anyone elso on this gateway with probs ..
Snarf
Grafter
Posts: 340
Thanks: 4
Registered: 04-08-2007

Speeds yet again

Same here, after only having just got my connection up to 2500kbps, speedtests are now indicating ~400kbps. I'm on BB Premier 1, anyone else on this package being affected?

Any PN guys around to say whether contention has come into it, or is there another fault somewhere?
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,124
Thanks: 4
Registered: 14-08-2007

Speeds yet again

I'm also on BB Premier 1.

Until recently I was gettting speed test in the 4000 to 6000 region - even at peak time.

Now:



Come on plusnet - what are we paying for on Premier? I won't let this go for very long without jumping ship.

EDIT - I seem to have been getting these speeds at peak time since the new capacity, and changes to improve bb+ have been implemented.

EDIT AGAIN:
BT Speedtest result:
Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
IP profile for your line is - 7150 kbps
DSL connection rate: 448 kbps(UP-STREAM) 8128 kbps(DOWN-STREAM)
Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 1292 kbps
Snarf
Grafter
Posts: 340
Thanks: 4
Registered: 04-08-2007

Speeds yet again

Hmm for me it would seem it was a problem/contention with one of PN's servers. Just disconnected and reconnected and speeds are back up to normal.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,124
Thanks: 4
Registered: 14-08-2007

Speeds yet again

Well that's interesting.

Just tried the same thing (switch router off/on):



And back to normal.
fakesnake
Grafter
Posts: 30
Registered: 01-08-2007

Speeds yet again

just rebooted my router
not really any better.
jerryw
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 30-07-2007

Speeds yet again

Same here, back in June when we got MAXed the speeds averaged
1500kbps, lately it's a third of that and today just 200kbps !
There was a suggestion on Usenet that PlusNet will give discount(s) for poor performance.
Anyone knows the full SP on that ?
Regards,
Martin
Snarf
Grafter
Posts: 340
Thanks: 4
Registered: 04-08-2007

Speeds yet again

Quote
just rebooted my router
not really any better.


Check what gateway you're connected to here.

I'm currently on ptn-ag1. Make sure you're reconnecting to a different gateway as it may be a problem on a certain one. Usually disconnection for a few seconds jumps it onto a new gateway.
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,729
Registered: 04-04-2007

Speeds yet again

Ouch the same here;



I am just going to try some gateway hoping, see if I can improve things.

Chilly
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,729
Registered: 04-04-2007

Speeds yet again

Hopped to pte-ag2 and now getting 2M. Cheesy

Chilly
N/A

Speeds yet again

I have also had problems with the internet today. This morning I was unable to use the internet because of the large no. of errors showing. Rebooting reduced these but at one stage, I was unable to bring up internet sites. Rebooting to "bt_test@startup_domain" worked fine and the digital demo site loaded instantly. My normal connection didn't connect to the internet despite the stats now being reasonable. I left it for a couple of hours and came back to try pings and tracert and everything worked fine.
I rebooted a number of times and initial sync speed was 5000+ which is unusual for me. I have to bring this down by configuring the snr because I know it will not cope with peak hours.
I am waiting for a visit from BT so there's nothing I can do at the moment but today the signs were that PN must have had some problems.
fred
fakesnake
Grafter
Posts: 30
Registered: 01-08-2007

Speeds yet again

hi, just done a reboot and






still on'ptn-ag2'
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,124
Thanks: 4
Registered: 14-08-2007

Speeds yet again

OK Plusnet

Any suggestion as to why we now need to re-boot to get sensible speeds?