cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SPAM settings

bigbry
Dabbler

SPAM settings

I am new to ADSL and Plus.net and in the process of making sure my email application is set up to suit ADSL rather than the phone connection I was using before.

One of the things I have noticed is that when I am sending mails from my yahoo account via Outlook 2003 to my plus mail accounts is that they are rejected due to my mails not having a Message-ID. I went to add one in Outlook and it opened up a new world of applying for an id to use for my mails. Before I venture in to this I wondered if anyone had any further information e.g. should I just lower my spam setting in plus mail settings or should I get an message-ID for each of my and my families mail accounts.

Thanks for any assistance in advance it will be much appreciated.

Cheers Bryan
10 REPLIES
csogilvie
Grafter

SPAM settings

The server is set to reject messages for all users that don't have a message-id to try and curb the mydoom virus email so your SPAM settings won't affect that.
bigbry
Dabbler

SPAM settings

Cheers pal - my first ever post to this forum and responded to in minutes. Is this now a permanent arrangement or will it be relaxed once mydoom is dealt with. Based on the fact I don't have a message ID I would imagine the standard user doesn't. Is this not going to cause problems with people trying to send legitimate mails.
N/A

SPAM settings

By the sounds of things, you are confusing Exncryptions keys and Message ID's.

A message ID is small text item included in the the headers of e-mails. An example is

Message-Id: <E1Amstk-0006gI-00@cadmium.webfusion.co.uk>

This can be used to track specific information about the path of an e-mail in the setup of a mail server. To the standard user, it means nothing, but to server administrators, it is the key to locateing entried in log files.