cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Routing to London via Germany?!?

Stoko
Grafter
Posts: 28
Registered: 20-08-2007

Routing to London via Germany?!?

The last 2 days I have noticed the ping to my normal game server at Jolt in London has gone from approx 16ms to 35-40ms.
Just checked the routing with winMTR and it turns out all my traffic is going via Germany! What the hell is going on here?
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|

| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| 192.168.0.1 - 0 | 160 | 160 | 0 | 0 | 31 | 0 |
| lo0-plusnet.pte-ag2.plus.net - 0 | 160 | 160 | 15 | 32 | 437 | 16 |
| ge0-0-0-504.pte-gw2.plus.net - 0 | 160 | 160 | 15 | 18 | 94 | 15 |
| 195.50.117.169 - 0 | 160 | 160 | 15 | 17 | 31 | 31 |
| ae-0-51.bbr1.London1.Level3.net - 0 | 160 | 160 | 15 | 18 | 93 | 15 |
| ae-1-0.bbr2.Frankfurt1.Level3.net - 0 | 160 | 159 | 31 | 35 | 93 | 31 |
| ae-12-51.car2.Frankfurt1.Level3.net - 0 | 159 | 159 | 31 | 36 | 219 | 31 |
| telia-level3-ge.Frankfurt1.Level3.net - 1 | 159 | 158 | 31 | 33 | 47 | 31 |
| ffm-bb2-link.telia.net - 1 | 159 | 158 | 31 | 32 | 62 | 31 |
| prs-bb2-pos7-0-0.telia.net - 1 | 159 | 158 | 31 | 46 | 78 | 47 |
| ldn-bb2-pos7-0-0.telia.net - 0 | 159 | 159 | 31 | 33 | 62 | 47 |
| ldn-b3-pos9-0.telia.net - 0 | 159 | 159 | 31 | 37 | 187 | 31 |
| pipex-110586-ldn-b3.c.telia.net - 3 | 159 | 155 | 31 | 33 | 62 | 31 |
| lon1-9.nildram.net - 3 | 159 | 155 | 31 | 32 | 62 | 31 |
| jolt-gw.nildram.net - 2 | 159 | 156 | 31 | 33 | 78 | 47 |
| 195.149.21.59 - 2 | 159 | 156 | 31 | 32 | 125 | 47 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR - 0.8. Copyleft @2000-2002 Vasile Laurentiu Stanimir ( stanimir@cr.nivis.com )

What gives?
40 REPLIES
N/A

Routing to London via Germany?!?

odd....its same for me on +n but from work via MCI (uunet) its direct, only thing I can think without being a network geezer is that somehow the plus net routers have the route you printed at a lower cost, or, +n maybe changed their carrier or they have had to fail over to a backup route for some reason? (dont know enough about the subject to be more specific) Shockedops:
craign
Grafter
Posts: 122
Registered: 01-08-2007

Routing to London via Germany?!?

Maybe the German networks are quieter following the eDonkey related charges - see BBCstory Wink

[Edit]
Though after looking at Nildram's web page and network architecture, I suspect the routing may be under their control. Eg "Nildram has a backbone network that covers Aylesbury, London, Manchester, Amsterdam and Frankfurt." Maybe PN get it to Telehouse, after that it's Nildram's baby.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

Routing to London via Germany?!?

Hi,

I've flagged this up to the network guys, will see if they can do anything and get back to you.
Stoko
Grafter
Posts: 28
Registered: 20-08-2007

Routing to London via Germany?!?

Still going via Frankfurt as of tonight - totally ridiculous.
hitachi
Grafter
Posts: 343
Registered: 05-04-2007

Routing to London via Germany?!?

Is anything being done about this. I thought Plusnet peered direct with nildram,or has that gone in a cost cutting measure.
Stoko
Grafter
Posts: 28
Registered: 20-08-2007

Routing to London via Germany?!?

Quote
Is anything being done about this. I thought Plusnet peered direct with nildram,or has that gone in a cost cutting measure.

If that's the case then I'll be gone too. :x

Still the same tonight.
N/A

Routing to London via Germany?!?

come on pn Shockedops:
hitachi
Grafter
Posts: 343
Registered: 05-04-2007

Routing to London via Germany?!?

Still the same. Adding 10 extra hops to Jolt is really not a good idea.
Lorian
Grafter
Posts: 699
Registered: 31-07-2007

Routing to London via Germany?!?

ATM my route is 10 hops, about 16ms. Looks OK.
Stoko
Grafter
Posts: 28
Registered: 20-08-2007

Routing to London via Germany?!?

Mine is still the same :x
Still routing via Frankfurt and 16 hops.
Come on Plusnet - please get this sorted.
Lorian
Grafter
Posts: 699
Registered: 31-07-2007

Routing to London via Germany?!?

I'm attached to pte-ag1 maybe that makes a difference.
hitachi
Grafter
Posts: 343
Registered: 05-04-2007

Routing to London via Germany?!?

After 3 reboots I managed to hit ag1 and yes the peering works properly,guess I'm going to have to play pass the gateway before I use jolt till I find 1 that works.
Lorian
Grafter
Posts: 699
Registered: 31-07-2007

Routing to London via Germany?!?

Time support took a look at the route in Looking Glass. As the route is up there must be a duff one being advertised.
Stoko
Grafter
Posts: 28
Registered: 20-08-2007

Routing to London via Germany?!?

I'm on pte-ag1 and it's still crap.
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|

| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| 192.168.0.1 - 0 | 117 | 117 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| lo0-plusnet.pte-ag1.plus.net - 0 | 117 | 117 | 15 | 22 | 454 | 15 |
| ge1-0-0-404.pte-gw2.plus.net - 0 | 117 | 117 | 15 | 17 | 62 | 15 |
| 195.50.117.169 - 0 | 117 | 117 | 15 | 15 | 32 | 31 |
| ae-0-51.bbr1.London1.Level3.net - 0 | 117 | 117 | 15 | 18 | 78 | 16 |
| ae-1-0.bbr2.Frankfurt1.Level3.net - 0 | 117 | 117 | 31 | 32 | 63 | 47 |
| ae-12-53.car2.Frankfurt1.Level3.net - 0 | 117 | 117 | 31 | 37 | 188 | 31 |
| telia-level3-ge.Frankfurt1.Level3.net - 0 | 116 | 116 | 31 | 31 | 47 | 31 |
| ffm-bb2-link.telia.net - 0 | 116 | 116 | 31 | 32 | 78 | 31 |
| prs-bb2-pos7-0-0.telia.net - 0 | 116 | 116 | 31 | 41 | 63 | 62 |
| ldn-bb2-pos7-0-0.telia.net - 1 | 116 | 115 | 31 | 32 | 62 | 47 |
| ldn-b3-pos9-0.telia.net - 0 | 116 | 116 | 31 | 35 | 125 | 47 |
| pipex-110586-ldn-b3.c.telia.net - 4 | 116 | 112 | 31 | 32 | 62 | 31 |
| lon1-9.nildram.net - 7 | 116 | 109 | 31 | 33 | 62 | 47 |
| jolt-gw.nildram.net - 3 | 116 | 113 | 31 | 33 | 63 | 31 |
| 195.149.21.59 - 2 | 116 | 114 | 31 | 32 | 47 | 47 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR - 0.8. Copyleft @2000-2002 Vasile Laurentiu Stanimir ( stanimir@cr.nivis.com )