cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rin trial

ForeverArsenal
Grafter
Posts: 179
Registered: 30-07-2007

Rin trial

Hi
Is there any news on when we can trial the new rin network yet please :?:
47 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,341
Thanks: 595
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Rin trial

Go to here and view "Questions in the last 28 days". If there is a closed Service Notice that says

Quote
A modify order has now completed on this account to place the customer onto the new network.


your account is ready to try the new network.

Change your login in your router/modem to pinebox88@plusdsl2.net and away you go.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
ForeverArsenal
Grafter
Posts: 179
Registered: 30-07-2007

Rin trial

Quote
Go to here and view "Questions in the last 28 days". If there is a closed Service Notice that says

Quote
A modify order has now completed on this account to place the customer onto the new network.


your account is ready to try the new network.

Change your login in your router/modem to pinebox88@plusdsl2.net and away you go.


Hi elvin.
Thanks for that,just checked as you suggested and the above was done yesterday.

I've been waiting for +net email that they said they would send to activate Rin.
Many thanks,going to try now.
ForeverArsenal
Grafter
Posts: 179
Registered: 30-07-2007

Rin trial

Quote
Quote
Go to here and view "Questions in the last 28 days". If there is a closed Service Notice that says


your account is ready to try the new network.

Change your login in your router/modem to pinebox88@plusdsl2.net and away you go.


Many thanks,going to try now.

elvin,have done above and rebooted router.
When I go connection settings in members centre ,click static IP it says,Current Status : You are now using a static IP address....is that correct :?:

on PAYG account.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,341
Thanks: 595
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Rin trial

Basically - no!

It is still a trial so they have crossed all the t's and dotted all the i's. RIN IP's are dynamic, but your old IP is still reserved for you if you choose to go back to the old network - so you have sort of got a static IP, but you are not using it.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,341
Thanks: 595
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Rin trial

Also, if you go to http://usertools.plus.net/@gateway it will tell you that you are not a Plusnet user!
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
ForeverArsenal
Grafter
Posts: 179
Registered: 30-07-2007

Rin trial

Quote
Basically - no!

It is still a trial so they have crossed all the t's and dotted all the i's. RIN IP's are dynamic, but your old IP is still reserved for you if you choose to go back to the old network - so you have sort of got a static IP, but you are not using it.


Thanks again elvin,all a bit to much for my old head Sad

Just read a post lower down with similar question so
had semi-sussed it out.
Nice to know for sure tho.
again thanks for help.
The_10th
Grafter
Posts: 1,090
Registered: 08-04-2007

Rin trial

Thanks for the pointer about the RIN change notification. I looked to find my problems began after the 'change' took place at PN. :idea:
N/A

Rin trial

Quote
Go to here and view "Questions in the last 28 days". If there is a closed Service Notice that says

Quote
A modify order has now completed on this account to place the customer onto the new network.


your account is ready to try the new network.

Change your login in your router/modem to pinebox88@plusdsl2.net and away you go.


I have the "A modify order has now completed on this account to place the customer onto the new network".

Does everyone use the same login (pinebox88@plusdsl2.net)?

When are Plusnet going to write to people as they said they would in the original email?
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

Rin trial

The format of the username on the RIN network is username@plusdsl2.net for everyone. We're still in the process of placing the orders to enable everyone to be able to take part in the trial so it'll be a week or two before the next email is sent.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,341
Thanks: 595
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Rin trial

Quote
Does everyone use the same login (pinebox88@plusdsl2.net)?


If you look back that message was in reply to a post by user pinebox88.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
gm4jjj
Rising Star
Posts: 670
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Rin trial

Just a wee note to say I am currently trying the RIN and it is working very nicely for me. Seems faster at opening webpages - perhaps something to do with the DNS? - Certainly no complaints with it.
N/A

Rin trial

Quote
Thanks for the pointer about the RIN change notification. I looked to find my problems began after the 'change' took place at PN. :idea:


All PN will have done is added the option to use RIN to your account.

If you haven't changed over to RIN, there should be no difference.
lank111
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: 11-10-2007

Rin trial

can we use both accounts say, i log onto my @plusdsl.net at the mo,

log off, log on to the test account - @plusdsl2.net

and if i dont like, log back onto @plusdsl.net the same day?

i have static IP and my own hostname ( home.west-wire.co.uk not lank111.plus.com ), will this get affected?
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Rin trial

You can use both accounts.

You will not have a static IP on the @plusdsl2.net login.