cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Requesting a lower SNR target on LLU?

sladkart
Grafter

Since I've been moved to LLU my line has been very stable, especially when compared to the nightmare I had on BT Max! However, since the move I've had a reduced sync speed due to the default settings used on LLU ie. 12dB margin, interleaved.

I've been monitoring the SNR on the line and it never seems to drop below about 7/8 dB as can be seen here. So I was wondering if it was possible to request a lower target noise margin - say 9dB ?

Has anyone else requested this and had it successfully changed?

Thanks
Rob
48 REPLIES
James
Grafter

We're currently unable to offer a default noise margin lower than 12dB.

I've been jumping up and down for over 6 months now to get 6 & 9dB margin profiles, and these should hopefully be implemented by the end of the month.

So fingers crossed, we should be able to do this before too long.
sladkart
Grafter

Okay James - thanks for the quick reply. Don't jump up and down too much you might do yourself an injury Wink

I'll keep my fingers crossed then - but just to clarify does 'the end of the month' mean this month January ? and 2007 ? Cheesy
James
Grafter

I'm hopeful so, yes. Tiscali have committed to January 2007, and barring delays, I'd be hopeful that this will actually happen.
dannykos
Grafter

will this change be implemented in the background - or will we need to request a lower target SNR?
James
Grafter

You'll need to request it. We won't implement any changes without a request being made.

It could potentially result in a sync rate improvement of ~1.6mbps, so will be beneficial to some with a steady line.
sladkart
Grafter

Tiscali have committed to January 2007

can we expect this sometime soon James or has it been delayed?
James
Grafter

Soon, yes.