cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question re outbound spam

N/A

After some messing around, I've managed to trap most incoming spam, either by filtering via GoogleMail or using the PN Spam folder. I've logged into the SquirrelMail today and I can see several messages in my 'Sent' folder.

For example, one message is alledgedly from HALIFAX PLC" <customercare-005325630@halifax.co.uk> and addressed to enquiry@mydomain.co.uk. This message is timed at 4:23am today (Friday 25 May).

My primary domain is hosted elsewhere. All email addressed to any mailbox is forwarded to GoogleMail, where I've collected 9,078 spam messages in the last month. Non-spam is then forwarded again to my PN mailbox, from where I collect it via Outlook.

Although I used to use the old AtMail Webmail, when I was on the road working, I've been using GMail for the past two months. I've certainly never sent anything via SquirrelMail.

I'm at a loss to understand how emails might be ending up in my 'Sent' box. Even if I did have some sort of trojan virus, surely any emails sent would be in my Outlook files somewhere and not on the PN mail servers?

Any advice, suggestions or assistance to determine where this may have originated from would be very helpful.

Cheers,

JR
10 REPLIES
N/A

Do you use IMAP or POP3 to send and receive e-mail on your computer? If you use IMAP then typically sent messages are stored on a server side sent mail folder, and this may be what you're seeing.

I'd certainly do a full anti-virus and spyware check to be on the safe side.
N/A

I should add that messages that you sent in @mail will have been transferred over to the new SquirrelMail interface, but the dates seem the preclude this possibility.
N/A

Thanks, Les.

I'm a POP Person, my antivirus and spyware is up to date and the most recent scans reported no issues and I was also surprised by the dates.

Still thinking ...
Ianwild
Grafter