cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about websites...

Marco
Grafter

I'm a BB+ customer of 6months and would like to use my webspace now. I'm a total noob so could you kindly answer a few noob questions

1) Will the co.uk domain I bought stay as the url in the address bar when it's pointed at my PN webspace

2) I'm not botherd about frontpage extensions but what are the other disadvantages of a BB+ webspace as against Premier (in practical terms)

3) Would mates be allowed to download my songs (written by me) from my site?

4) could I just make the whole site and upload via ftp rather than the PN web-builder thingy?

Ta Smiley
10 REPLIES
Community Veteran

1) Yes. Any osted domain points automatically to your webspace. You can get it to point to a sub-directory if you wanted via the domain names section on the left.

2) Only 100MB webspace and 100MB./day traffic limit compared to 250MB webspace and 250MB/day traffic allowance for premier.. Also premier has CGI (i.e. PHP) capability and MySQL database for creating dynamic websites.

3) Yes, subject to you not exceeding your daily traffic allowance of 100MB. That does not add up to many songs per day e.g. you could only download 20 5MB MP3s/day or 12 8MB songs / day. SO you will have to be very carefull about the size of the files and how many people download them.

4) Yes and that would be my recommended way to do it.
___oDiN__
Grafter

you can always sign up some payg accounts with various isps and link to the various sites
Marco
Grafter

Thanks - a few further questions...

er...

a) So in 1) you could host several websites? How many?

b) Would it be best to point my domain at a sub-folder in case I want to add others or can I move it to a subfolder later?

c) Is odinrealsm's idea better? because of more traffic allowance presumably?
(does that amount to signing up for several free dial-up payg accounts just for the webspace?