cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about migrating

N/A

Question about migrating

Hi. I have had enough with the poor service I've received from plusnet and am moving. I've asked for my MAC code today and have received it.

I have defferred hardware costs of £50.00 to pay, which I'm arguing with plus to waive as the service I've received over the last two months has been abysmal. I also have the 30 day notice period. My 12 month contract expires on 12th April this year.

Lets say plusnet refuse to budge and force me to pay the defferred hardware cost. If I give my MAC code to my new ISP after 12th March do I assume that I wouldn't then be liable for the hardware cost as the 30 day period would take me out past 12th April?

Anybody able to confirm?

Thanks.
42 REPLIES
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Question about migrating

You would still need to pay the deferred charges. However, if you hang on for another month, we'll be waiving deferred contracts over 12 months old, so it would be beneficial for you to do so.

Out of curiosity, when you say poor service, what are you actually referring to?
N/A

Question about migrating

But if I wait a month then my 12 month deferred contract would be wiped out anyway, so that's not exactly a great gesture from plusnet is it?!

As for poor service. I have spent two months suffering with a 0.6 - 2MBps connection when I am 800 metres from my exchange with a synch speed of 8128 and a BRAS of 6500 (it was higher than this, but has very recently dropped). Four BT visits and endless support ticket to and fro-ing has made me desperately unhappy with plusnet. Also related is a routing problem that prevents access to certain websites except when using proxy servers, yet plusnet refuse to accept it's anything to do with them.
Mand
Grafter
Posts: 5,560
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

Question about migrating

Hi there,

Currently deferred charges are held on your account for a total period of five years. By the end of March this will have been revised to twelve months. This is entirely seperate to the annual contract and any requirements of that.

With regards to the line issue, we'd be happy to escalate it for you should you wish, and see if we can get it sorted once and for all, it's also worth noting that if the problem is on your line it's likely to follow you to your new ISP.

Which sites can you not get to? (feel free to add a ticket ID if you've explained this before and I'd be happy to investigate).
N/A

Question about migrating

Hi.

I know if there is a problem on my line that the fault would follow, BUT - there is nothing to suggest that the error is with my line, but there are a lot more pointers to suggest it's a problem your end but nothing is being resolved.

I can't get to www.adobe.com, www.maxumdev.com, www.depechemode.com - tickets for this and my speed issues have been raised, details below.

If you think you can get it resolved go for it, but I would still appreciate a human being phoning me.

Tickets are: 21487211, 21255833, 21407133
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,341
Thanks: 597
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Question about migrating

From what you have described I would be almost certain that it's a problem at your end.

Can you tracert to the problem sites?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
N/A

Question about migrating

Quote
From what you have described I would be almost certain that it's a problem at your end.

Can you tracert to the problem sites?


It isn't a problem my end. If I traceroute to them, they timeout on certain hops. This includes resolved addresses and IP addresses. The problem was 'fixed' for two days when my speed problem was 'fixed' for two days, then as soon as the speed issue returned this problem returned.

I have tried everything I possibly can this end, different hardware, different cabling, different OS. Nothing helps. It is categorically not a problem my end.
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Question about migrating

Have you tried changing your MTU?
N/A

Question about migrating

Quote
Have you tried changing your MTU?


Yep, to three different values, as indicated in my tickets.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,341
Thanks: 597
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Question about migrating

Timeouts on individual hops are nothing to worry about:

============================================================================================

C:\Documents and Settings\John>tracert www.maxumdev.com

Tracing route to maxumdev.com [64.202.163.7]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms dg834 [192.168.0.1]
2 19 ms 20 ms 13 ms lo0-plusnet.pte-ag2.plus.net [195.166.128.72]
3 17 ms 13 ms 14 ms ge0-0-0-504.pte-gw2.plus.net [84.92.4.90]
4 15 ms 17 ms 12 ms ge1-0-0-23.ptn-gw1.plus.net [212.159.4.17]
5 20 ms 12 ms 14 ms ge-4-1.metro2-londencyh00.London1.Level3.net [212.113.11.41]
6 14 ms 15 ms 15 ms so-1-2-0.gar2.London1.Level3.net [212.113.0.118]
7 13 ms 18 ms 13 ms ae-0-54.bbr2.London1.Level3.net [4.68.116.98]
8 87 ms 84 ms 77 ms as-0-0.bbr1.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.68.128.106]
9 80 ms 80 ms 84 ms ae-13-51.car3.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.68.97.18]
10 82 ms 80 ms 80 ms att-level3-oc192.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.68.127.150]
11 143 ms 150 ms 142 ms tbr2-p011601.n54ny.ip.att.net [12.123.3.61]
12 146 ms 146 ms 149 ms tbr2-cl15.wswdc.ip.att.net [12.122.10.54]
13 141 ms 139 ms 139 ms tbr1-cl27.wswdc.ip.att.net [12.122.9.149]
14 143 ms 143 ms 149 ms tbr1-cl4.sl9mo.ip.att.net [12.122.10.30]
15 142 ms 144 ms 142 ms tbr2-cl6.dlstx.ip.att.net [12.122.10.90]
16 143 ms 145 ms 145 ms tbr2-cl1592.phmaz.ip.att.net [12.122.10.82]
17 140 ms 141 ms 140 ms 12.122.108.65
18 143 ms 141 ms 144 ms 12.122.255.106
19 143 ms 142 ms 141 ms mdf001c7613r0004-gig-12-1.phx1.attens.net [63.241.130.174]
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 161 ms 161 ms 163 ms ip-216-69-189-60.ip.secureserver.net [216.69.189.60]
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 161 ms 167 ms 161 ms linhost214.prod.mesa1.secureserver.net [64.202.163.7]
24 163 ms 161 ms 165 ms linhost214.prod.mesa1.secureserver.net [64.202.163.7]

Trace complete.


I can still reach the website
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
N/A

Question about migrating

"I can't get to www.adobe.com, www.maxumdev.com, www.depechemode.com - tickets for this and my speed issues have been raised, details below. "

I got to these three with no problems.
N/A

Question about migrating

I too am completely fed up by the utter rubbish service from plusnet. I have been getting downloads of 200kps and lower and yet this is meant ot be acceptable.

I feel like cancelling my direct debit and withholding payment, as why should i pay for something I am not getting.

I have deffered charges too, so am I supposed to put up with this x&%$@& for another couple of months. Sorry life is too short for that.

I WANT TO MOVE AND I WANT TO MOVE NOW
N/A

Question about migrating

Quote
Timeouts on individual hops are nothing to worry about:

I can still reach the website


Yes, I know that, I'm not getting timeouts on individual hops within a completed traceroute. The traceroutes never finish as there is no successful final hop.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,341
Thanks: 597
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Question about migrating

Are you using a router or a modem?

What does this command give?

ping -f -n 1 -l 1472 www.maxumdev.com

If it gives "Packet needs to be fragmented but DF set." can you keep reducing the 1472 until you find a value at which it does work.

Edit: assuming a normal ping does work
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,729
Registered: 04-04-2007

Question about migrating

I think before shouting at PlusNet you need to understand why you are experiencing slow speeds.
There are a number of factors that can cause them, most of which are outside of PlusNet's control, and will follow you to your new ISP.

1)Line conditions

If you are getting poor sync speeds for the length of your line, it is important that you run through the basic fault finding procedures;
Connect your router to the test socket on the BT master socket with all other phone disconnected.

Cheap micro filters are a false economy, replace them with high quality filters.

Removing the ring wire from telephone extensions, can improve Sign Noise Ratio.

Ensure that ALL telephones have microfilters, this includes Fax machines, Sky boxes and Intruder alarms.


2)Exchange contention

About 50% of exchanges are experiencing Exchange contention, where there is insignificant backhaul capacity. This shows up as slower speeds at peak times.
http://usertools.plus.net/exchanges/


3)PlusNet traffic management

If you have exceeded your product usage and are on traffic management, then you may need to consider if you are on the correct product for your usage.

If you do not rule out points 1 and 2 above then they will move with you to your next ISP.


Chilly