cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problems with internet connection...HELP!!!

N/A

I have been using Plusnet as my broadband provider since November 2005 on the recommendation of a friend. Initially the service was good, I had opted for the £14.99 a month option. In May 2006 I started experiencing problems with my connection especially around peak times.

I complained and and complained and all I ever got told was that there was something wrong on my end. They kept saying that BT will charge to check the line. I am not technical but why would there be anything wrong with the line when I have no problems during peak times. I told customer services about this but was ignored. I tried to leave Plusnet last year but was made aware of a £70 cancellation charge so I balked at that. My fault for not reading the small print I suppose!

I bought a new modem and new filters as advised just in case that was the problem. For a time things were fine but the problem keeps recurring. Now, I can barely connect to the internet during peak times.

I didn't think there was any point in complaining to customer services again. What really makes me angry is that I can't get the service I am paying for at the time I most want it.

I have read several reviews about Plusnet recently and it seems like most people have had problems. I really don't want to go through the hassle of changing my ISP but I am at wit's end.

Has anyone else experienced similar problems to me? Can anyone advise me on what to do to solve this problem (other than the obvious one which is to dump Plusnet)?
5 REPLIES
James
Grafter

Hi there,

If you're suffering from Sync losses, this isn't caused by the ISP itself, but at the BT Wholesale end.

I'm running a line test now to get some further information.
James
Grafter

Hi Omar,