cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with recording usage statistics

N/A

My new month started yesterday the 17th and when I checked my usage today it reads that I have used 1.4GB on peak! As I'm only on option 2 BBYW then I only get 8GB a month, last month I almost used the 8GB on peak allowance by the end of the month, and I schedule any large downloads for off peak hours, generally between 1am and 3am.

The usage stats show that I have been gaming online (I haven't played an online game for about 2 months) and also P2P which I would never ever use on peak due to the allowance and the very poor speeds on peak anyway, oh and the 'other' which I don't even what that for. I was out for most of the day yesterday so there is no way I could have used this amount anyway.

SO I phoned and spoke to a rep would was extremely arrogant and more or less said that I was a liar, to say I am furious is an understatement and I want something sorted on my account. If the CSR's here look at my usage they will see that the usage by catergory is almost the same for web, p2p, streaming etc and looks like the usage has been 'doubled up'on categroes that i haven't even used. All I did yesterday on-peak was surf and about 20 mins streaming at a very low bitrate. I'm afraid I'm not prepared to pay for usage that I have not made considering my on peak allowance is only 8GB and would like you to investigate this/reset my account.
12 REPLIES
p_w_d_stone
Grafter

Do you use a router or a USB modem to connect to the internet? Is there wireless in your house and how is this secured?

Have you completed full antivirus and spyware scans?
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Fixes: 1

Hi,

I've checked the raw data because obviously I'm concerned that this could be a major issue but that agrees with the figures in VMBU exactly so looks like this is correctly recorded.

Could someone else have been using the connection? For example, an insecure wireless connection?
N/A