cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plus Net Do Not Backup Their Email System

N/A

Hi

I recently lost all of my email (150MB) that was stored on Plus Net's IMAP system, at their behest I may add. They had evidently reprovisioned some mailboxes as I ended up with 6 of the same name and also received all the auto-provisioning email notifications from some mailboxes that I had deleted over a year ago, they mysteriously re-appeared. But all my current email simply vanished overnight.

I raised a ticket and it took Plus some three weeks to respond, and even then only after raising two official complaints. Their response was that they do not have an archive of my old mails. Ergo Plus do not backup their email system. Does anyone else find this more than a little poor and ill-thought out for a company selling services?

I am a technical architect of large-scale solutions myself (including having designed ISP architectures) and I can honestly say I would never sign-off or design a single component, certainly one so key as email, without a disaster recovery and backup plan in place. I've recommended two businesses and many friends to use Plus, but one cannot safely run a business using an ISP that does not consider email important enough to backup. So we're all off to Zen Internet, who are reputedly a far safer bet.

Guess I just wanted to air my feelings on what a shoddy two-bit company Plus have become over the last year.

Ben
2 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Fixes: 1

Hi,

I'm sorry to hear that some of your mail has been lost, whilst I don't know the specifics of what has happened here I can tell you how the "disaster recovery" works regarding email.