cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New MaxDSL upgrade - now no working connection

N/A

New MaxDSL upgrade - now no working connection

I don't know if this is 'normal' or if there's anything I can do.

It looks like my MaxDSL order went through yesterday (according to the BT website). I first realised when my internet connection got dropped and my modem/router was flashing up a 6-7k speed.

However since then it's only kept a connection for around 2 hours and has for the last 3 hours had no connection at all (I'm posting through a different phone line).

My modem keeps flashing alternatively 'activation', 'channel analysis', 'training', 'showtime' with occasional (half second) flashes of a 6-7k connection and SNR margins of between 4 and 6 approx.

I'm 600 metres from my exchange and the pre-test figures I put into various sites said i'd get around a 5k connection.

I've only had an internet connection for the 2 hours in the last 18, is this normal or do I raise a ticket?

Thanks for any help or advice.
28 REPLIES
N/A

New MaxDSL upgrade - now no working connection

Just noticed my modem also counts 'startup attempts'. it's now at 431 and increasing by 1 every 10 seconds or so.

Thanks.
N/A

New MaxDSL upgrade - now no working connection

Similar (though not quite so bad) story here.

Not able to connect for several hours yesterday evening - tried again at 10pm to find I was on MaxDSL at 3.9Mps. Switched on at 6am this morning, all fine at 5.1 Mbs. Lost connection somewhere around lunchtime, and had six hours of 'the 'activation' 'channel analysis' etc cycle on my modem. Finally reconnected at 6.15pm at 5.2Mbs after 742 startup attempts.

I too, would be interested to know if this was normal or something to worry about.
richpu
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 30-07-2007

New MaxDSL upgrade - now no working connection

Same here,
connection is unusable, raised a ticket it has taken 15 miutes to get the BT speedtest page loaded...(super fast connection or what!)
before the upgrade had a stable 2mb line no problems

just wish the CSC ppl would read the entire ticket before asking me to do all the things that I had just told them I had done in the last ticket...

Not Happy Evil

having to connect to raise tickets via dial up or 3G
Slipperymack
Grafter
Posts: 98
Registered: 05-08-2007

New MaxDSL upgrade - now no working connection

My upgrade appears to have gone through yesterday - synched at 7.2 mb - but I have lost connection 70 times since, make that 71,72, 73 (whilst replying). Something is happening - had no problems with 2.0 mb. I have raised a ticket - got no real (now 74) except when I try to use (now 75) the fault checker, as the ticket will not let me action it !!!!, I get a message "we have identified a fault" - no other details. : Cry

I am getting so ****** off.

But I must remain patient, I expected some problems. I am sure the good people are trying to sort the problem, albeit in a clandestine way (now 76) However as I was not advised of the upgrade I am a little bit miffed (now 77) to say the least.

Hope it gets sorted soon.

My BF2 stats are suffering!!!!!!!
JonathanW
Grafter
Posts: 2,648
Registered: 02-10-2007

New MaxDSL upgrade - now no working connection

If you're having problems maintaining synch with the exchange, and have access to the internet via other means, I'd advise raising a ticket through the automated faults checker, rather than through the regular contact us wizard. As this will actually collect all of the needed information and then start running the tests on your behalf.
N/A

New MaxDSL upgrade - now no working connection

Well after my first posts I got a connection for about 4 hours this afternoon, then it died. After an hour or so cycling through the usual bits I got a connection but .....I'm now at 866 start-up attempts, it says I'm connected at 5856 but I can't get anything form anywhere (no emails, no internet).
SNR around 5 to 7, 35,556 'errored signals' and 7217 'CRC errors'.

I'll see if I can raise a ticket but I'm not on my line (of course).

What a pain in the butt.
N/A

New MaxDSL upgrade - now no working connection

The automated checker found no faults so I assume with my extra comments added it's going the normal ticket route.

My router said it had found a connection at around 6.30 this morning at 7k but again it didn't actually do anything.

Seems little choice but to power down my modem, reboot after a while and go through the painful activation, channel analysis etc process for another 24 hours!

Obviously if a PN member of staff wants to jump in and offer help/assistance/comfort, feel free to!!!
richpu
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 30-07-2007

New MaxDSL upgrade - now no working connection

I raised a ticket yesterday and bounced back and forth with have you checked the master socket, filter etc.
even though in the ticket I stated that I had test all the equipment and master socket.

Phoned support last night after a 40 minute wait on the phone, was told that I hadn't been upgraded to MaxDSL, ask why my router was syncing at 8Mb, put on hold for 5 minutes. Oh yes it appears that you have been upgraded.. Shockedops:
however he was very helpful.

jumped through all the hoops and finally got to a point where a fault will be raised on BT. Seems strange that the issues started at the exact moment my line resynced at 8Mb. Evil

Fingers crossed this gets sorted out...
N/A

New MaxDSL upgrade - now no working connection

Same problem for me as reported here

Trying the automated line fault checker results in this message:

'We were unable to complete your requested action. This may be the result of a temporary fault. Please try again in a few minutes.'

And now I've left that automated test page I can't get it back to retry. The fault checker just tells me I've already got a ticket open on that fault and dumps me on the contact us page, despite the fault checker saying I could re-visit to run the test with 48 hrs of reporting it. :?:
N/A

New MaxDSL upgrade - now no working connection

i am having similar problems, the night before last i checked my router and it was synced at 8MB, no disconnections, nice and stable, i went to bed happy.
I got up yesterday and my router had lost sync and apart from a brief spell last night synced at 1MB :shock: , i have not had a connection since.
i don't know if i should report this as a fault or try and stick it out in the hope it will sort it's self once this training period is over
N/A

New MaxDSL upgrade - now no working connection

Well, I've had a connection for the last hour now at 6432 with SNB in the range of 8+. I've still a ton of errors numbers (4573 errored signals and 7229 CRC errors) so I guess I'm not out of the woods yet.

My automated check went through to the end last night and overnight reported there was no error.
N/A

New MaxDSL upgrade - now no working connection

Just got a response to my ticket which starts off;

Quote
If you are experencing slow speeds you can perform BT speed tests these would allow us to investigate your issue. Please see below for details. Please note your account has not yet been regraded to MAX DSL and this issue is unrelated to the speed changes.


Now I didn't get an email from PN (as promised) telling me the order was being submitted so I guess that's where customer services get the bad info from?

Also attached info from my modem with the following detail (somes been removed from here because of the length of the file) pointing out the figures are a little hard to get if you're not going through a MaxDSL upgrade (even the BT site says mines been done);

05/04/2006 06:36:55> PPP1 Session is up.
05/04/2006 06:31:23> ATM Tx Error Count: 0, Rx Error Count: 0
05/04/2006 06:31:26> PPP1 PPPoA Connected
05/04/2006 06:31:29> ATM Disconnected
05/04/2006 06:31:29> ADSL disconnected
05/04/2006 06:31:29> PPP1 Session is down.
05/04/2006 06:31:34> ADSL detected
05/04/2006 06:31:40> ATM Connected
05/04/2006 06:31:40> ATM layer is up, cell delineation achieved
05/04/2006 06:31:40> ADSL connected
05/04/2006 06:31:40> Modulation: G.dmt
05/04/2006 06:31:40> Annex Mode: ANNEX_A
05/04/2006 06:31:40> Max Tx Power: -38dBm/Hz
05/04/2006 06:31:40> CO Vendor: TEXAS_INSTRUMENTS
05/04/2006 06:31:40> d/s SNR: 4.8dB, u/s SNR: 27.0dB
05/04/2006 06:31:40> d/s Attenuation: 24.4dB, u/s Attenuation: 14.5dB
05/04/2006 06:31:40> d/s Data Rate: 6976kbps, u/s Data Rate: 448kbps
05/04/2006 06:31:40> d/s Latency: FAST, u/s Latency: FAST
05/04/2006 06:31:40> d/s total bit capacity: 2068bits, used: 1752bits
05/04/2006 06:31:40> u/s total bit capacity: 136bits, used: 136bits
05/04/2006 06:31:40> ATM Tx Error Count: 0, Rx Error Count: 0
05/04/2006 06:31:43> PPP1 PPPoA Connected
05/04/2006 06:31:43> PPP1 CHAP Authentication success
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,322
Registered: 01-08-2007

New MaxDSL upgrade - now no working connection

Quote

05/04/2006 06:31:40> d/s Attenuation: 24.4dB, u/s Attenuation: 14.5dB
05/04/2006 06:31:40> d/s Data Rate: 6976kbps, u/s Data Rate: 448kbps
05/04/2006 06:31:40> d/s Latency: FAST, u/s Latency: FAST
05/04/2006 06:31:40> d/s total bit capacity: 2068bits, used: 1752bits


Your data rate looks OK, but whats that second bold bit - I havent got a clue, but if I had to guess it would seem to suggest that this is all the router can pass? :?

Maybe someone else can interpret it?
shellsong
Grafter
Posts: 2,191
Registered: 03-08-2007

New MaxDSL upgrade - now no working connection

Quote
i am having similar problems, the night before last i checked my router and it was synced at 8MB, no disconnections, nice and stable, i went to bed happy.
I got up yesterday and my router had lost sync and apart from a brief spell last night synced at 1MB :shock: , i have not had a connection since.
i don't know if i should report this as a fault or try and stick it out in the hope it will sort it's self once this training period is over

Are you sure your router hasn't given up the ghost? The stats you mentioned last night made me think that was a prime contender-- particularly since your previos stats appeared to be quite good