cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New BT Broadband tester won't work :(

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,160
Thanks: 1
Registered: 01-08-2007

New BT Broadband tester won't work :(

All I get is this message:

"Performance Tester was not able to find all the network details required for telephone number:020XXXXXXXX.

Please check that it is the correct telephone number for your service, and if not try again. If you believe it is the correct number for your service then please raise this as a fault with your service provider."

Is it supposed to work for MaxDSL? And if so, should I be switching something off in my router firewall (Netgear DG834GT)? OTOH could it be the software firewall on my Mac that's causing the problem, even though the firewall log isn't showing anything?
Plusnet user since November 2003
Currently on Unlimited Fibre Extra and Unlimited UK & Mobile Calls
27 REPLIES
N/A

New BT Broadband tester won't work :(

You aren't by any chance on LLU are you?

I suspect that this would give you an error message similar to the one you mention - it will only work for BT provided ADSL.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,160
Thanks: 1
Registered: 01-08-2007

New BT Broadband tester won't work :(

No, MaxDSL as I say. BT have been sorting my line out for speed fluctuations and I was asked to log into BT Testing for a while the other day, so I know it's them for sure.

The old BT test where you have to log in to speedtest_domain works fine. I wonder if this new one isn't Mac compatible or maybe not Firefox compatible.
Plusnet user since November 2003
Currently on Unlimited Fibre Extra and Unlimited UK & Mobile Calls
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,364
Thanks: 15
Registered: 06-04-2007

New BT Broadband tester won't work :(

I managed to run it once yesterday, I think the system is being hammered by folks trying the new toy. Give a couple of days and would guess access will be easier.

When you do run it, it talks about running a Best Effort test. Which is interesting if you are aware of the plans for BT to offer the ISP the abilty to provide Best Effort and Assured Speed services the the End Customer.

SW.
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,160
Thanks: 1
Registered: 01-08-2007

New BT Broadband tester won't work :(

When I tried it at first yesterday I got a different message saying that it might be busy.

Will keep trying!
Plusnet user since November 2003
Currently on Unlimited Fibre Extra and Unlimited UK & Mobile Calls
N/A

New BT Broadband tester won't work :(

I got in succesfully this morning. It has been down for a few days.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,160
Thanks: 1
Registered: 01-08-2007

New BT Broadband tester won't work :(

Got through today and got a result. Hadn't changed any firewall settings or anything, so must just have been some sort of glitch previous tries.

However, it's not working entirely, as can be seen with my results - I got a question mark for Best Effort Test (line is currently synching at 5600 but BRAS is set at 3000):

Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test: ?
IP profile for your line is - 3000 kbps
DSL connection rate: 448 kbps(UP-STREAM) 3424 kbps(DOWN-STREAM)
Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 1870 kbps
Plusnet user since November 2003
Currently on Unlimited Fibre Extra and Unlimited UK & Mobile Calls
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,364
Thanks: 15
Registered: 06-04-2007

New BT Broadband tester won't work :(

Quote

Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 1870 kbps


Which is suspicously close to the maximum you are likely to achieve on a 2Mb line sync'd at 2272!

SW.
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
N/A

New BT Broadband tester won't work :(

sybilandbarry:

The Question Mark at the end of the line is a "Help" marker. If you hover your mouse over it a help tooltip pops up IIRC.
N/A

New BT Broadband tester won't work :(

Quote

Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test: ?
IP profile for your line is - 3000 kbps
DSL connection rate: 448 kbps(UP-STREAM) 3424 kbps(DOWN-STREAM)
Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 1870 kbps

Which means BT haven't yet released an updated delta report about your line to plusnet.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,160
Thanks: 1
Registered: 01-08-2007

New BT Broadband tester won't work :(

Assuming BT have at last fixed my fluctuating speeds/disconnection problem*, I should be back up to stable rate of 4000 and more in a day or two, so will check again then and see what it says.

*Fingers crossed - didn't have it happen during the most recent rain (when it always used to go unstable) but I'm waiting at least a few more days before I close my fault ticket, just in case.
Plusnet user since November 2003
Currently on Unlimited Fibre Extra and Unlimited UK & Mobile Calls
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,160
Thanks: 1
Registered: 01-08-2007

New BT Broadband tester won't work :(

Quote
sybilandbarry:

The Question Mark at the end of the line is a "Help" marker. If you hover your mouse over it a help tooltip pops up IIRC.

Aha! Didn't realise that. I just assumed it wasn't giving any info! If it's there still next time, I'll do that and see what it has to say.
Plusnet user since November 2003
Currently on Unlimited Fibre Extra and Unlimited UK & Mobile Calls
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,160
Thanks: 1
Registered: 01-08-2007

New BT Broadband tester won't work :(

Quote
Quote
Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test: ?
IP profile for your line is - 3000 kbps
DSL connection rate: 448 kbps(UP-STREAM) 3424 kbps(DOWN-STREAM)
Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 1870 kbps

Which means BT haven't yet released an updated delta report about your line to plusnet.

I've just done another test and see what you're getting at. 3424* was the speed I was synched at first thing yesterday morning, even though I forced it up later by rebooting (the noise margin was very high - 18db I think) and the test is now showing what I was synched at first thing this morning and still am.

Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test:
IP profile for your line is - 3000 kbps
DSL connection rate: 448 kbps(UP-STREAM) 5600 kbps(DOWN-STREAM)
Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 1907 kbps

Interesting to see how this all works!

*Just looked back at my fault ticket and see it was actually 3584 when I noted it. I suppose it might have gone a little lower when I wasn't looking.
Plusnet user since November 2003
Currently on Unlimited Fibre Extra and Unlimited UK & Mobile Calls
N/A

New BT Broadband tester won't work :(

Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test:
IP profile for your line is - 3000 kbps
DSL connection rate: 448 kbps(UP-STREAM) 4192 kbps(DOWN-STREAM)
Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 1814 kbps

Can someone please look to see if bt are sending delta reports to plusnet please.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,364
Thanks: 15
Registered: 06-04-2007

New BT Broadband tester won't work :(

Quote

Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 1907kbps


Still suspicously close to the max rate you would get if something limited your line somewhere in the system to 2272kb/s. Sad

SW.
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed