cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MSN (and certain webpages) aren't working...

N/A

-done a search of the forums and came up with this thread

Is anyone else having problems, or is it just me? (I've just repaired windowsXP, so it's not unlikely I'm to blame)

um, I'm not too technical, so be gentle, replyers Smiley I've had a mess about with my internet settings, but no change...
10 REPLIES
numismatic

Re: MSN (and certain webpages) aren't working...

yes I can not get lastminute.com
or legoland.com and few others just take ages to load or do not load

Moderators note by John (johnessex) Full quote of preceding post removed as per the Link:rules
N/A

hmmm... I can get lastminute.com, but no mIRC...

should I be using a proxy server? I'm on 2mb broadband plus.
N/A

Even Google is slow -- first, it takes an age to resolve www.google.com (and yes, both with manual and automatic DNS server selection), and then it times out two times out of three. As do an awful lot of other pages.

I've rebooted my router and PC, to no effect.

Yet another network problem? You have to wonder where this service is heading to...
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Fixes: 1

Hi,

Have you tried any of the following sites, eBay, Amazon, Hotmail or the London Congestion Charge site. They may seem like a strange bunch but often there's one thing in common if it affects most or all of them and that's your MTU and RWIN settings.

If you have problems with most or all of them then I'd suggest taking a look at

http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/tweak.htm

there's quite a lot of good information on there and details on how to change your MTU and RWIN to see if that fixes it.

If all the other sites work then this may not be the problem, let us know how you get on.
N/A

Dave,

eBay, Amazon etc. all work reasonably well -- but the Kitz page keeps timing out or is ultra-slow...
N/A