cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MAC requests

N/A

MAC requests

While I understand that PN's customer service are quite right to persuade us not to leave... I don't see how I can stay:

- Bandwidth prioritisation. An unknown entity that will affect those of us that work from home a few days a week.

- 8 Meg mystery. As a 39.99 Premier user, I did think we'd get clearer answers on this happening within a reasonable timeframe.

- SMTP block. This pains me as I'm a network admin and I have to wind up remoting into a terminal server to check smtp gateways as I cannot even do it on my connection. It's a drag for normal email use too.

So, please, can I have my MAC?

Thanks,
52 REPLIES
N/A

MAC requests

There is no SMTP block that I know of.
N/A

MAC requests

There is no SMTP block that I know of.

That's fine, so you don't know of it. That doesn't stop it from being there.

Otherwise, I wouldn't be forced to use relay.plus.net. Any TCP 25 traffic on my Plusnet account goes exactly nowhere. Same laptop, same mail configuration elsewhere works just fine.
N/A

MAC requests

Have you attempted to use your modem/router configuration elsewhere too, in order to confirm this.

I have just performed some diagnostic testing, which seems to have worked OK

AOL
telnet mailin-01.mx.aol.com 25 - Result: Sucess

Hotmail
telnet mailserver.htomail.co.uk 25 - Result: Sucess
N/A

MAC requests

Have you attempted to use your modem/router configuration elsewhere too, in order to confirm this.

I have just performed some diagnostic testing, which seems to have worked OK

AOL
telnet mailin-01.mx.aol.com 25 - Result: Sucess

Hotmail
telnet mailserver.htomail.co.uk 25 - Result: Sucess

Indeed I have. I have a Cisco 831 router these days. Prior to this I had a Netgear DG834.
N/A

MAC requests

It's very easy to reproduce:

Just trying using a third party's SMTP server in your mail client.
N/A

MAC requests

Which I already do, with sucess.
N/A

MAC requests