cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Like wading through treacle..

Uncle_Meat
Grafter
Posts: 167
Registered: 04-08-2007

Like wading through treacle..

As the title says, this best describes web browsing/usenet (text only groups)

A couple of traces for you all to peruse...

Tracing route to portal.plus.net [212.159.8.137]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms voyager.MSHOME [192.168.1.1]
2 150 ms 157 ms 166 ms lo0-plusnet.thn-ag1.plus.net [195.166.128.80]
3 28 ms 30 ms 28 ms gi0-2-0-303.pte-gw1.plus.net [84.92.3.177]
4 28 ms 28 ms 27 ms ge1-0-0-23.ptn-gw1.plus.net [212.159.4.17]
5 28 ms 28 ms 31 ms 195.166.129.10
6 37 ms 36 ms 37 ms se3-0.pih-gw1.plus.net [195.166.129.250]
7 38 ms 35 ms 39 ms vlan8.pih-gw4.plus.net [212.159.0.30]
8 37 ms 37 ms 38 ms pih-al4.plus.net [212.159.1.36]
9 39 ms 38 ms 35 ms portal.plus.net [212.159.8.137]

Trace complete


Tracing route to www.bbc.co.uk [212.58.224.126]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms voyager.MSHOME [192.168.1.1]
2 157 ms 159 ms 161 ms lo0-plusnet.thn-ag1.plus.net [195.166.128.80]
3 28 ms 27 ms 29 ms gi0-2-0-303.pte-gw2.plus.net [84.92.3.178]
4 27 ms 27 ms 28 ms ge0-0-0-22.ptn-gw1.plus.net [212.159.4.1]
5 27 ms 27 ms 29 ms gi1-1-22.ptn-gw5.plus.net [212.159.4.6]
6 29 ms 27 ms 28 ms rt0.thdo.bbc.co.uk [212.58.239.25]
7 29 ms 27 ms 27 ms 212.58.238.149
8 27 ms 28 ms 29 ms www.bbc.co.uk [212.58.224.126]

Trace complete.

C:\Documents and Settings\Loz>tracert usenet.plus.net

Tracing route to nntp-readers.plus.net [84.92.1.10]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms voyager.MSHOME [192.168.1.1]
2 140 ms 144 ms 149 ms lo0-plusnet.thn-ag1.plus.net [195.166.128.80]
3 28 ms 27 ms 29 ms gi0-2-0-303.pte-gw2.plus.net [84.92.3.178]
4 27 ms 29 ms 28 ms ge0-0-0-22.ptn-gw1.plus.net [212.159.4.1]
5 31 ms 27 ms 28 ms usenet.plus.net [84.92.1.10]

Trace complete.



Free pint to anyone who can spot what all these traces have in common.. Tongue


Finally, my line stats...

Line Mode : G.dmt Line State: Show Time
Latency Type: Fast Line Up Time: 00:00:37:26
Line Coding: Trellis On Line Up Count: 1

Statistics Downstream Upstream
Line Rate 8128 448
Noise Margin 12.9 dB 24.0 dB
Line Attenuation 1.5 dB 0.5 dB
Output Power 12.3 dBm 7.8 dBm
K (number of bytes in DMT frame) 255 15
R (number of check bytes in RS code word) 0 0
S (RS code word size in DMT frame) 1 1
D (interleaver depth) 1 1
Super Frames 131737 131735
Super Frame Errors 6 0
RS Words 0 0
RS Correctable Errors 0 0
RS Uncorrectable Errors 0 0
HEC Errors 5 0
OCD Errors 0 0
LCD Errors 0 0
ES Errors 0 0



Any ideas?

My first thought was "Plusnet is playing up..", but having seen no notice of this on the fault checker, and also being totally ignorant of MaxDSL, I wonder if it could be something this end?

Although, saying this, I've had no problems so far with the 3 weeks or so I've had MaxDSL, and also as far as I'm aware I have no restrictions on my account.

Cheers!
20 REPLIES
sophos9
Grafter
Posts: 760
Registered: 12-09-2007

Like wading through treacle..

Looks like there is an issue with AG1 that has not been posted

I'm getting

2 165 ms 161 ms 142 ms lo0-plusnet.pte-ag1.plus.net [195.166.128.64]
3 17 ms 16 ms 19 ms ge1-0-0-404.pte-gw2.plus.net [84.92.4.10]
4 18 ms 18 ms 18 ms 195.50.117.169
5 19 ms 18 ms 18 ms ae-0-55.bbr1.London1.Level3.net [4.68.116.129]
6 35 ms 33 ms 36 ms as-1-0.bbr1.Frankfurt1.Level3.net [212.187.128.6
2]
7 37 ms 34 ms 34 ms ae-12-53.car2.Frankfurt1.Level3.net [4.68.118.80
]
8 34 ms 34 ms 35 ms 62.67.38.226
9 35 ms 34 ms 34 ms 72.14.238.121
10 35 ms 34 ms 31 ms 72.14.232.208
11 36 ms 36 ms 34 ms 72.14.232.141
12 35 ms 45 ms 42 ms 72.14.233.79
13 41 ms 34 ms 37 ms 216.239.43.34
14 36 ms 35 ms 35 ms 64.233.183.104

What a pain huh!
thejudge
Grafter
Posts: 571
Thanks: 1
Registered: 01-08-2007

Like wading through treacle..

I've been having increasingly cr*p speeds (or, rather, cr*ply decreasing speeds) for a week or two now.

Trying to view streaming video makes me want to start chanting, "It's just like watching dialup!" :x

I did a speed test a few minutes ago, and my supposed 1MB connection is now giving me speeds of < 600kb.

Even I'm starting to wonder if I'm with the right ISP anymore. :?
sophos9
Grafter
Posts: 760
Registered: 12-09-2007

Like wading through treacle..

hey dude feel for you but this problem is not about up/downstream traffic probs

Its about lag on one the ela's namly AG1

Have put a ticket in
danep
Grafter
Posts: 119
Registered: 30-07-2007

Like wading through treacle..

same problem here

Slow speeds at the moment well under 100kbps on 2mb connection, its usually 220-240.

Thing is I am also testing a new server host and I dont know now wether it's the new hosts systems screwing things up or Plusnet.

Regards
Danep
Once I have some time I will be jumping ship.
Uncle_Meat
Grafter
Posts: 167
Registered: 04-08-2007

Like wading through treacle..

Quote


Its about lag on one the ela's namly AG1

Have put a ticket in



Ah groovy! I was just about to do the same myself, just in case the support bods miss my original post.

Talking of support bods, any chance you could acknowledge this, just let the rest of the folk who are reading this that it is at least a known issue at the moment?

Cheers!
N/A

Like wading through treacle..

It's not just one of them...

sophos9:
142 ms lo0-plusnet.pte-ag1.plus.net [195.166.128.64]

lozharrison:
166 ms lo0-plusnet.thn-ag1.plus.net [195.166.128.80]

me:
101 ms lo0-plusnet.ptn-ag1.plus.net [195.166.128.123]

Three different addresses, all first hops...
N/A

Like wading through treacle..

Its lag on one of the edge routers which is a Juniper ERX, not an Ellacoya Smiley
sophos9
Grafter
Posts: 760
Registered: 12-09-2007

Like wading through treacle..

Doh! :busted:

*kicks himself*

Are the support crew aware, any ETA on resolve?
N/A

Like wading through treacle..

There has been big issues with ag1 now for a long time. For some reason it hasn't been as fast as the other 2 gateways for a while. However over the last week the ag2 and thn-1 gateways have been just as slow.
N/A

Like wading through treacle..

Hmmmm

Usual PN CS advice in these situations is to disconnect and reconnect and hope you get a better route in...

But of course you can jump from the frying pan (ptn-ag1 @ 100 ms+) into the fire (thn-ag1 @ 160 ms +)

Aid
Uncle_Meat
Grafter
Posts: 167
Registered: 04-08-2007

Like wading through treacle..

Quote
Hmmmm

Usual PN CS advice in these situations is to disconnect and reconnect and hope you get a better route in...

But of course you can jump from the frying pan (ptn-ag1 @ 100 ms+) into the fire (thn-ag1 @ 160 ms +)

Aid



Disconnect/Reconnect. Wish I never....


Tracing route to www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.227.76]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms voyager.MSHOME [192.168.1.1]
2 226 ms 237 ms 248 ms lo0-plusnet.ptn-ag1.plus.net [195.166.128.123]
3 27 ms 26 ms 25 ms ge0-0-0-103.ptn-gw2.plus.net [84.92.3.18]
4 26 ms 28 ms 27 ms gi1-1-22.ptn-gw5.plus.net [212.159.4.6]
5 27 ms 26 ms 30 ms rt0.thdo.bbc.co.uk [212.58.239.25]
6 26 ms 28 ms 25 ms 212.58.238.133
7 27 ms 26 ms 33 ms 212.58.238.145
8 27 ms 28 ms 36 ms www.bbc.co.uk [212.58.227.76]

Trace complete.


I want my frying pan back! :lol:
N/A

Like wading through treacle..

I tried again and got pte-ag2 and a ping between 50 and 60 ms Smiley
sophos9
Grafter
Posts: 760
Registered: 12-09-2007

Like wading through treacle..

Ahhh.....

PTE - AG2 rocks!

2 20 ms 20 ms 18 ms lo0-plusnet.pte-ag2.plus.net [195.166.128.72]
Uncle_Meat
Grafter
Posts: 167
Registered: 04-08-2007

Like wading through treacle..

Heh. I've just updated the firmware on my router, and when I rebooted all was nippy again. No more treacle.

Of course, the thought "Surely all this was not just down to old firmware?" entered my head. Well, it did until I executed a trace...

Tracing route to www.bbc.co.uk [212.58.224.87]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms voyager.MSHOME [192.168.1.1]
2 28 ms 26 ms 28 ms lo0-plusnet.pte-ag2.plus.net [195.166.128.72]
3 25 ms 30 ms 27 ms ge0-0-0-504.pte-gw2.plus.net [84.92.4.90]


Ahhh.. Thats better. I'll never unplug my router again.. Smiley


On a more serious note, still no confirmation from Plusnet that they are aware of a problem, or indeed any idea of a fix. C'mon chaps!