cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lack of security

N/A

Lack of security

Hi,

From a discussion on the CGI forum (subject '.php pages') it seems there is a glaring security hole in php scripts, such that if you are using php to access a mySQL db (ie most of us) then any other user can read your files, including your db password. This means they can mess up or delete _all_ your data.

I am posting here, as PlusNet support seem to ignore the CGI forum. As a developer, I want to provide sites for my clients, at least in prototype form before moving to their own hosting. Even if it were only for my own stuff, I could not accept such an insecure setup.

Can we have some response from PlusNet please? What do other users think?

Regards,
Ranjit.
2 REPLIES
N/A

RE: Lack of security

Good afternoon,
I'll address your points in turn:
> From a discussion on the CGI forum (subject '.php pages') it seems there is a glaring security hole in php scripts, such that if you are using php to access a mySQL db (ie most of us) then any other user can read your files, including your db password. This means they can mess up or delete _all_ your data.
As has been posted before, we have to strike a balance between usability and security. You'll find some places on the CGI platform that would not be considered secure in comparison with our main webserving platform.
Your comments have been taken on board, however -- we do value your feedback and suggestions for improvements to the service are taken on board.
> I am posting here, as PlusNet support seem to ignore the CGI forum. As a developer, I want to provide sites for my clients, at least in prototype form before moving to their own hosting. Even if it were only for my own stuff, I could not accept such an insecure setup.