cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LLU gateway switch

dannykos
Grafter
Posts: 204
Registered: 07-08-2007

LLU gateway switch

just wondering if the LLU router switch was complete yet? I'm now showing as connected to the "unknown" gateway!!

anyhow - is this supposed to be faster / more reliable?
19 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

LLU gateway switch

All LLU users have been moved over.

It is not intended to be any faster, in fact its performance is exactly the same as the old kit but has more redundancy/resilience built in so can cope with a major hardware failure much better.

Your speed is governed by the connection to the exchange, local exchange contension, the BT central contention and traffic shaping, not the gateway kit.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,817
Thanks: 11
Registered: 30-07-2007

LLU gateway switch

I'm also on gateway unknown. Did the gateway checker tell you about juniper 3 as well.

I'm not on llu. I opted out and tiscallis not at my excange

Which gateway
You are currently connected to the "unknown" gateway. This gateway is sometimes known as pth-ag1.

Note: At the moment this could mean that you are on the "Telehouse East, Juniper 3" gateway.


Could it be we're just on the same constipated gateway, my speeds are horrendous but bt says I'm getting 5000 plus.

A
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

LLU gateway switch

The gateway checker knows about thn-ag2, the new LLU gateway.

I'll pass on your result and get it corrected. I thought it did know about pth-ag1.
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

LLU gateway switch

I think it's giving off dodgy information.

You should be on thn-ag2.
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

LLU gateway switch

Are you sure James, amcclean says he is not on LLU so why should they be on thn-ag2.
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

LLU gateway switch

Sorry, my mistake.

I'm not aware of a gateway called pth-ag1. Will look into this for you.
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

LLU gateway switch

amcclean,

Could you possibly supply a traceroute?
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

LLU gateway switch

Have definitely confirmed that there is no such gateway.

Will speak with Colin and ask him to have a look.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,264
Registered: 04-04-2007

LLU gateway switch

I'll need to see tracert to do anything about it. Apparently there must have been a pth-ag1 at some point, otherwise I wouldn't have a bit in the code to say 'This gateway is sometimes known as pth-ag1'. In fact, according to the code, pth-ag1 comes straight out of the tracert from the server.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,345
Thanks: 600
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

LLU gateway switch

pth-ag1 was a Redback
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

LLU gateway switch

That must go back quite a bit? I'm sure it's before my time at least Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,345
Thanks: 600
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

LLU gateway switch

The fount of all knowledge

The last update Kitz had was that they were being deployed as backup devices. I was wondering if they'd been pressed in to service to alleviate the sessions problem.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

LLU gateway switch

Definitely nothing that's been communicated to me and I would be extremely surprised if this had happened, given all the talks that we've been having about the Firewall implementation et al.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,345
Thanks: 600
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

LLU gateway switch

I'd love to know why people suddenly saw that ghost from the past!
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)