cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is http://speedtester.bt.com/ broken?

N/A

Is http://speedtester.bt.com/ broken?

Have tried many times on Monday evening on http://speedtester.bt.com/ to get a result and carried on past midnight to now 03.18 on Tuesday trying to get a result, but all I get every time is a Test Error "Unexpected result received when querying the network to find your services connection details. Please try again shortly, but if this problem persists raise the issue with your service provider."
Have seen many postings about that 'site's' reliability. Cant the ISPs put some sort of pressure onto BT to fix it? Or is it an issue with the ISP somehow?
16 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,364
Thanks: 15
Registered: 06-04-2007

Is http://speedtester.bt.com/ broken?

It is known to be almost impossible to connect to the speedtester at peak times ... 5pm till midnight! I repeatedly tried for +60 mins without success.

SW.
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
N/A

Is http://speedtester.bt.com/ broken?

I was getting the same message before midnight and the early hours of this morning.

Pretty poor show.
Mand
Grafter
Posts: 5,560
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

Is http://speedtester.bt.com/ broken?

Hi there,

We all know that the speedtester is somewhat flawed, and seems to generate errors regularly.

We have fed this back to BT numerous times, as have others I believe.

Unfortunately it is necessary when raising speed faults, as it is a BT requirement.
N/A

Is http://speedtester.bt.com/ broken?

It is a requirement that you must use the broken system to report a fault. OK....

I require that you send a man to my house to pick up your payment, which will be made Korean Won so you too can jump through a few hoops Smiley
N/A

Is http://speedtester.bt.com/ broken?

Despite repeated attempts between 08.00 and 10.00 this morning, the same Test Error message is displayed.
Luckily, I do not have any speed issue....at the moment...
Mand
Grafter
Posts: 5,560
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

Is http://speedtester.bt.com/ broken?

Hi

When raising a fault to BT it is a requirement (of theirs) that valid speedtest results are provided. In most cases they reject a fault when the results are not from their speedtest.

If you genuinely cannot produce results from this, and it sounds like you have tried as much as any reasonable person could expect, then we can try and raise the fault with other results.

This test seems to be widely regarded as the most reliable at the moment.
N/A

Is http://speedtester.bt.com/ broken?

I appreciate what you say, but it has worked previously, here is an example:
Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
IP profile for your line is - 6500 kbps
DSL connection rate: 448 kbps(UP-STREAM) 7616 kbps(DOWN-STREAM)
Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 5796 kbps

I use http://www.speedtest.bbmax.co.uk/ often, but that is a completely different test and does not show the IP profile does it.
As an example of a test done this morning on http://www.speedtest.bbmax.co.uk/ :
Download Speed: 6005 kbps (750.6 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 386 kbps (48.3 KB/sec transfer rate)

The issue is the unatainability of tests on http://speedtester.bt.com/
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Is http://speedtester.bt.com/ broken?

Appreciate the issue.

If you need to know what your IP Profile is, we can find this out for you.
N/A

Is http://speedtester.bt.com/ broken?

Thank you James. Yes, please notify me of my IP Profile in whichever way is convenient for you.
There must be countless frustrated people failing to access http://speedtester.bt.com/
Many Thanks.
Mand
Grafter
Posts: 5,560
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

Is http://speedtester.bt.com/ broken?

Hi there,

The latest update we received showed you as having a 7000 profile, however BT's reporting system is not responding at the moment so I cannot see if this has changed since 23/01/07.
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Is http://speedtester.bt.com/ broken?

Your bRAS appears to be set at 7392kbps.
N/A

Is http://speedtester.bt.com/ broken?

Thank you for your reply. Why am I not surprised.....
I would be greatful though for you to notify me when the reporting system is up and running again.
N/A

Is http://speedtester.bt.com/ broken?

Thank you James. Seems we posted round about the same time, but you marginally beat me.
Regards.
N/A

Is http://speedtester.bt.com/ broken?

I appreciate that this is moving off the original topic, but in a previous post here I quoted the IP profile from http://speedtester.bt.com/ (done some days ago I might add) as "IP profile for your line is - 6500 kbps"
Does it mean then, from your last reply where you say "Your bRAS appears to be set at 7392kbps" that my profile has improved since that test?
My router still says: Upstream Speed: 448 kbps
Downstream Speed: 7616 kbps.

Can you explain, certainly for my benefit (I like to learn new things) and possibly others that may be showing an interest in this, the difference between what my router says and the IP profile you quote.

Also, when I got the result from http://speedtester.bt.com/ of 6500kbps my router was showing Upstream Speed: 448 kbps
Downstream Speed: 7616 kbps. Why the difference between 6500 and 7392 yet my router figures have stayed the same?

Thank you.