cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IP profile set to 152kps!!!!

Phantom_Flan_Fl
Grafter
Posts: 389
Registered: 30-07-2007

IP profile set to 152kps!!!!

After seeing consistent poor speed results over the past couple of days, I ran the BT speed test.

This is my result

Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test:  -provides background information.

IP profile for your line is - 152 kbps
DSL connection rate: 448 kbps(UP-STREAM)  4704 kbps(DOWN-STREAM)
Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 114 kbps

If you wish to discuss these results please contact your ISP.
If you are experiencing problems with specific applications, servers or websites please contact your ISP for assistance.
Your test has completed please close this window to exit the performance tester


Do I need to raise a ticket??

My exchange is red according to the Broadband fault checker, but surely BT wouldn't knock me back as much as they have?? Does it mean I'm stuck with this until BT sort out the exchange, or do I hear the words of LLU from Be or Sky calling me?
15 REPLIES
sophos9
Grafter
Posts: 760
Registered: 12-09-2007

IP profile set to 152kps!!!!

Dude, VP's reporting should not cause this. PM jamesbailey, he will sort it... Maybe a line reset or summin will be actioned!
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 12,799
Thanks: 630
Fixes: 62
Registered: 04-04-2007

IP profile set to 152kps!!!!

Hi there,

Little point in raising a ticket just yet.

Unplug anything connected to your phone line that isn't required, minimise or eliminate the use of any extension cabling, plug your modem or router into the master socket and reboot a couple of times a day making sure your kit resynchronises at an acceptable speed.

If after 3 or 4 days there is no change then I would raise a fault here.

Kind Rgds,

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Phantom_Flan_Fl
Grafter
Posts: 389
Registered: 30-07-2007

IP profile set to 152kps!!!!

Thanks for quick reply Bob, but I'm already plugged in to the master socket and the computer gets switched off when not in use, so has effectively been rebooted at least 4 times today.

For what it's worth, I use a PCI modem, not a router.

This will be the end of day 2 of my slow speeds as I wasn't on much over the previous days to notice any slowdown (if any).
sophos9
Grafter
Posts: 760
Registered: 12-09-2007

IP profile set to 152kps!!!!

Bob, whats the date on his last profile change?

If he is carrying this sync now and has been for a couple of days then surely he should keep his router switched on?

Also, if internal wiring was causing the issues, this would be represented in the downstream sync?

dave, can you post up some router stats and how many dropped sessions...?
sophos9
Grafter
Posts: 760
Registered: 12-09-2007

IP profile set to 152kps!!!!

Doh... Dave you got in before me!

Can you post some modem stats...

Line Attenuation
SNR margin
Dropped sessions
HEC, CRC and FEC errors

cheers
Phantom_Flan_Fl
Grafter
Posts: 389
Registered: 30-07-2007

IP profile set to 152kps!!!!

Thanks Sophos, but my little PCI modem doesn't offer attenuation or SNR.

I haven't noticed any disconnections and the modem reports no errors.
sophos9
Grafter
Posts: 760
Registered: 12-09-2007

IP profile set to 152kps!!!!

Bummer, over to PN to run a whoosh test.
Phantom_Flan_Fl
Grafter
Posts: 389
Registered: 30-07-2007

IP profile set to 152kps!!!!

Just to add -

Line was activated for MaxADSL on the 14th Nov after house move

Initially achieving speeds of 2Meg.

Changed after a day or two to 1 meg, presumably because that was the speed I was set to before the move.

After 14 days, modem was connecting at a constant speed about 4 Meg.

Contacted PN who changed my profile to 4 Meg on the 30th Nov and had been enjoying decent speeds.

My Connection Settings show my current Broadband speed at 500Kbps.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 12,799
Thanks: 630
Fixes: 62
Registered: 04-04-2007

IP profile set to 152kps!!!!

Quote
Bob, whats the date on his last profile change?

The last 3 were for the 9th, 11th and 12th as follows:-

09/12/2006 13:29:58
11/12/2006 00:33:17
12/12/2006 00:31:11

All for 160kbps

Quote
If he is carrying this sync now and has been for a couple of days then surely he should keep his router switched on?

There have been 13 reconnections during this same period. Any of these synchronising at a reduced rate would explain the repeat delta reports with a 160kbps IP profile.

Quote
Also, if internal wiring was causing the issues, this would be represented in the downstream sync?

It can easily be an intermittent issue. We've only seen the stats from a single session.

Kind Rgds,

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

IP profile set to 152kps!!!!

BT first reported the IP Profile at 160kbps on 09/12/2006 at 13:29:58, with a further report the same yesterday morning at 0:30 and this morning at 0:30. Woosh isn't giving me any results but so long as the line remains sync'd over 4Mbps then the BRAS should automatically update in the next day or two.
Phantom_Flan_Fl
Grafter
Posts: 389
Registered: 30-07-2007

IP profile set to 152kps!!!!

Thanks guys,

Hopefully I'll see some improvement soon then.

Anything other than browsing is pointless at the moment. :?
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 12,799
Thanks: 630
Fixes: 62
Registered: 04-04-2007

IP profile set to 152kps!!!!

Indeed. It's happened to me before and it's a PITA Sad

Rgds

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,339
Thanks: 595
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

IP profile set to 152kps!!!!

Quote
BT first reported the IP Profile at 160kbps on 09/12/2006 at 13:29:58

That doesn't correspond with when you put your Christmas lights up does it? Or any other ideas what caused the low sync? Just that if it happened once it could again.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Phantom_Flan_Fl
Grafter
Posts: 389
Registered: 30-07-2007

IP profile set to 152kps!!!!

Dare to say that we haven't got our tree up yet.

Planned for this weekend.