cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Had enough and want out...

N/A

Hello all,

I had my first taste of Broadband last month, and have 'pigged' out a bit (1mb Premium), as a result of crawling along on dial-up for so long.

Although my downloads are now drying up, I feel unsettled staying with Plusnet after visiting this forum. The possibility of being 'shoved' onto the BBP is not something I feel very happy about...from what I see dial-up is faster!

Ok... my own fault? Well being a Plusnet newbie, I did not realise that there were limits (undifined) that should be adhered to. I simply did not see any warnings when I signed up.

So today I am going to take pre-emptive action and request my MAC code, before I am dealt 'the hand of wrath'!

My own opinion is that as speeds increase users will naturally demand more, and as the wider use of streaming content becomes the 'norm', people will be soaking up ever greater dollops of bandwidth... if Plusnet have established themselves as a 'watch your back, we're a restricted service' then surely potential new customers will avoid them like the plague?
67 REPLIES
Community Veteran

I think you are over reacting a bit here Sad

To get put on the "Bad Boys Pipe" as its become known you have to be doing some VERY serious data transfers over a sustained period.

No one is going to clobber you if you have a few days or even a month of very heavy usage. Cool
Its only if you keep it up in an unreasonable fashion that you may cause a problem.
serenityvalley
Grafter

Leaving is a bit rash, isn't it? I've also been with PlusNet little over a month (OK, close to 2). My first month had hit 126GB's of bandwidth use, so obviously I paid close attention to the debate. I've adjusted my usage and am on course for around 80GB's this month and probably around 70 thereafter. This hasn't forced any real change in how I use the net and, so, as long as PlusNet don't start harrassing me, I don't see any reason to walk.