cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HTTP download test

N/A

HTTP download test

Can anyone recommend somewhere with very fast servers where I can test a large http download?

The last two things I've needed to download haven't broken 17kb/s once settled, wanna see if it's the servers or me.

Thanks Cheesy
11 REPLIES
N/A

HTTP download test

Why not just use the speedchecker?, if your downloading from usnet then 17K is pretty good - I normally only get 15K :roll:
N/A

HTTP download test

Well, the +net checker doesn't work.

18-09-2005 09:56:16 24189
15-09-2005 20:16:43 11075.3
14-09-2005 22:37:02 0
13-09-2005 16:07:03 0
13-09-2005 16:06:48 0
13-09-2005 16:01:41 7247.4

If only I got those speeds Cheesy *drools*

Anyway, BT test, ADSLguide and zen test all check out, so I just wanted to check it wasn't a problem with HTTP downloads Smiley
N/A

HTTP download test

Not to worry, slackware iso levelled off at 210kb/s - not perfect, but better than 17 Smiley

Cheers
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

HTTP download test

Hi,

Try http://ftp.heanet.ie/, generally seems to give really good http and ftp speeds.
N/A

HTTP download test

While we're here, any idea why the +Net speed checker doesn't work?

I disable NIS and Ad-Watch, even tried disabling router's firewall, but I either get a reading of 0 or several thousand megabits Cheesy
Ben_Brown
Grafter
Posts: 2,839
Registered: 13-06-2007

HTTP download test

Have you tried an alternative browser?

I've not had any problems with it in Opera.
N/A

HTTP download test

I'll fire up IE and give it a whirl Smiley

(Been using Mozilla)
N/A

HTTP download test

Got a result with I.E :|

You'd think the fastest growing browser would work :roll:

Anyway, nice call Smiley
LiamM
Grafter
Posts: 5,636
Registered: 12-08-2007

HTTP download test

You running Firefox? If so... works fine for me using Firefox.
N/A

HTTP download test

Yup, running Firefox. Doesn't work at all, even with everything disabled.

I have the google toolbar plugin and that's about it... Sad

I did wanna get rid of IE completely, but so many Microsoft services will only use IE and not Firefox, I kept it Cheesy
Ben_Brown
Grafter
Posts: 2,839
Registered: 13-06-2007

HTTP download test

I've just tried it with Firefox at home via vpn and it worked ok. It was on debian, not that that should make any difference.