cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Generic router settings for Plusnet customers???

N/A

Generic router settings for Plusnet customers???

Hi, apologies if I've posted this in the wrong section...

Can anyone suggest the recommended router settings... if there are any recommended router settings that Plusnet give out??

My Dlink is showing that the line speed is over 5mb, but my router is only putting out about 60kbp/s either wirelessly or wired to the router, so I'm guessing its a setting somewhere that I need to alter...

Might sound silly I know, but if I don't ask, I don't know if someone will say... "Deffinately have this set to that, or you'll get a rubbish connection" etc etc.


Cheers guys...

Alex
10 REPLIES
N/A

Generic router settings for Plusnet customers???

Check your upstream speed, if its > 448, then chances are your on LLU, in which case check out the service announcements:

"We are making some changes on our broadband platform to resolve the speed problems reported by some of the customers on our LLU platform in the past few days."

before fiddling with your hardware. The above one will apparently be carried out tomorrow morning.

If your not on LLU, then check your stable rate, and reboot your router once per day for 3 days if it's low.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) _CN_
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 385
Registered: 11-06-2007

Generic router settings for Plusnet customers???

Quote
router is only putting out about 60kbp/s either wirelessly or wired to the router


Hi

60KBytes .. I have had a look at your account and see that the BT speed profile is set to 512Kbps. Can you post the line sync speed directly from your Router so we can make sure the speed profile is correct.
N/A

Generic router settings for Plusnet customers???

Hi neenan, thanks for that... I'll post it as soon as I get home today.. so be around 6ish.....

By the way... here are my last speed tests, which now that you've mentioned it, is very consistent with a half meg line..

14-08-2006 18:14:45 481.7
14-08-2006 18:04:56 475.3
14-08-2006 17:54:26 475.1
14-08-2006 17:51:09 477.1
14-08-2006 17:50:34 480.2
14-08-2006 17:48:08 445.1
14-08-2006 17:37:22 393.5
14-08-2006 17:33:59 223.1
13-08-2006 20:19:12 234.8
13-08-2006 19:49:43 447.9
13-08-2006 19:06:15 423.4
13-08-2006 19:01:02 291.4
13-08-2006 18:47:24 471.1
13-08-2006 18:39:08 470.4
13-08-2006 18:20:08 474.9
13-08-2006 17:32:17 484.1
13-08-2006 17:22:00 478.6
13-08-2006 17:07:00 474.4
13-08-2006 17:06:41 409.5
13-08-2006 17:06:11 355.8


Sync speeds to follow later
essenby
Grafter
Posts: 139
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Generic router settings for Plusnet customers???

Quote
Hi . . My Dlink is showing that the line speed is over 5mb, . .

Just a guess but the speed reported by your D-Link addapter is possibly the speed between your machine and the wireess router? Nothing to do with your connection speed.
N/A

Generic router settings for Plusnet customers???

Thanks essenby, but I'm sure its my line sync speed... my reported connection between the router and my machine is 54mbp/s.... which is a great strong signal...

Its odd. When I first installed Plusnet about a week ago with its standard USB modem, I had actuall download speeds of 5 - 6 meg, but I've changed the USB modem to the D-Link DSL G624M and I know that there is no way the router can 'limit' the speed of the connection it gives to clients, only corporate large companies equipment is capable of that as far as I'm aware.... I'm gonna post my line sync speed details for Carl (as requested above) and also change back to the USB modem to count out the router as being at fault, although DLink have now told me that either the modem will work at full speed, or not at all.... as its incredibly unlikely that it would work but only give out about 7% of the actual line speed....

Hmm... I'll post the line speeds and see if there is an issue there... I've seen that other Plusnet people on the forum have had issues whereby their speeds 'were' really good but suddenly drop to something really slow....

Thanks again,

Alex
N/A

Generic router settings for Plusnet customers???

OK, here it is..... the fault is the line or connection to the house, I'm 110% positive.

I've swapped my router over with Plusnets USB modem I got bundled, which did initially get 5 - 6MB speeds.... I've swapped it and guess what, same maximum of 60kbp/s.....

I've also tested this with JUST the router in the phone line... all phones taken out of the loop so that there is no electrical interference etc... still no joy.... I've tested 3 other Microfilters incase they were duff.... still no luck...

Carl, or any other Plusnet employee who is kind enough to read this, here are the sync settings that I was asked to get earlier... hope its the right stuff...



Line Condition
Model Name DSL-G624M Firmware Version DSL-G624M.UK.B02T09.20051212

ADSL Line Status
ADSL State Show Time
Data Path Interleave

DSP Version E.38.2.23 Operation Mode ADSL

Upstream DownStream

ADSL Link Speed 448 kbps - SNR 20 db

ADSL Link Speed 5536 kbps - SNR 10.0 db



Upstream - CRC 0
Downstream - CRC 5

Up - FEC 1
Down - FEC 39

Up - HEC(ATM Layer) 0
Down - HEC(ATM Layer) 3
Plusnet Alumni (retired) _CN_
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 385
Registered: 11-06-2007

Generic router settings for Plusnet customers???

raise a ticket, post me the number and I'll deal with it
N/A

Generic router settings for Plusnet customers???

I think this is it... I raised a fault on the 'broadband fault checker' thingy that I had under my connection settings....

ID: 20070385


I've posted the notes from this as well....

I've also PM'd you............ as I cannot see in the rules that I'm not allowed to do that... unless I'm blind... feel free to correct me if thats the case Smiley

Thanks for your help Carl

Alex
Plusnet Alumni (retired) _CN_
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 385
Registered: 11-06-2007

Generic router settings for Plusnet customers???

Check your question Cheesy
N/A

Generic router settings for Plusnet customers???

Quote
Check your upstream speed, if its > 448, then chances are your on LLU, in which case check out the service announcements:.


Not necessarily my exchange won't see LLU for a long time yet but here are my readings taken at 2140hrs

Downstream 3,621.9 Kbps ( = 3.5 Mbps )
Upstream 686.3 Kbps ( = 0.7 Mbps )

No big deal just pointing out that high upstream rates may not mean LLU