cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

For Att of Dthomlinson

N/A

For Att of Dthomlinson

here is a revers routre from the usnet server i use,,

might be of interest,,

Quote
Your IP is xx.xxx.xxx.xxx

Hop Hop Name (IP Address)
1 ge5-3.news-rt3.usenetserver.com (208.49.83.45) 0.936 ms 0.159 ms 0.159 ms
2 atl-c00.gbe1-4-1.wvfiber.net (63.223.1.57) 0.885 ms 0.829 ms 0.829 ms
3 ash-c00.pos1-36-1.OC48-ash-atl-pos-1-37-1.wvfiber.net (63.223.0.7Cool 16.779 ms 17.008 ms 17.008 ms
4 ash-e00.pos-2-0.lan-ash-c00.pos1-38-1.wvfiber.net (63.223.24.50) 16.053 ms 15.993 ms 15.993 ms
5 ash-b01-ge-1-8.lan-ash-a00-ge-4-0.wvfiber.net (63.223.24.3Cool 15.725 ms 16.073 ms 16.073 ms
6 prp-ash-b01-ge-1-7.wvfiber.net (63.223.23.2) 15.532 ms 15.434 ms 15.434 ms
7 t2c1-p4-2.us-ash.eu.bt.net (166.49.237.65) 16.301 ms 16.234 ms 16.234 ms
MPLS Label=16 CoS=3 TTL=1 S=0
8 t2c1-p4-0.uk-eal.eu.bt.net (166.49.164.73) 120.490 ms 120.491 ms 120.491 ms
9 t2c2-p8-0.uk-lon1.eu.bt.net (166.49.208.110) 120.558 ms 120.478 ms 120.478 ms
10 t2a4-ge2-0.uk-lon1.eu.bt.net (166.49.135.106) 120.519 ms 120.453 ms 120.453 ms
11 ge0-1-0-33.ptn-gw2.plus.net (166.49.211.10) 107.020 ms 107.189 ms 107.189 ms
12 ge0-0-0-22.pte-gw1.plus.net (212.159.4.9) 107.106 ms 107.073 ms 107.073 ms
13 gi11-0-504.pte-ag2.plus.net (84.92.4.91) 107.898 ms 108.197 ms 108.197 ms
14 sattaff.plus.com (xxx.xx.xx.xx) 141.556 ms 134.365 ms 134.365 ms


Any sugestions Dave
11 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

For Att of Dthomlinson

Hi,

Where's the server located? My trace the other way is a lot shorter

D:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>tracert 208.49.83.45

Tracing route to ge5-3.news-rt3.usenetserver.com [208.49.83.45]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <10 ms <10 ms <10 ms 192.168.0.1
2 155 ms 38 ms 57 ms lo0-plusnet.ptn-ag2.plus.net [195.166.128.53]
3 29 ms 25 ms 27 ms ge1-0-0-204.ptn-gw2.plus.net [84.92.3.106]
4 25 ms 26 ms 39 ms ge1-0-0-23.ptn-gw1.plus.net [212.159.4.17]
5 30 ms 25 ms 26 ms 195.66.226.167
6 132 ms 144 ms 131 ms wvfiber.ge2-2.br01.atl01.pccwbtn.net [63.216.31.
138]
7 133 ms 150 ms 132 ms atl-a00.ge-1-0.atl-b01.ge-1-1.wvfiber.net [63.22
3.8.45]
8 115 ms 116 ms 115 ms ge5-3.news-rt3.usenetserver.com [208.49.83.45]

Trace complete.

(ignore the first hop ping time there's another PC using the connection)

If it's transatlantic then that would make sense with the increased ping times. An MTU/RWIN tweak might also help if this is the case.
N/A

For Att of Dthomlinson

@dtomlinson

its transatlantic yep, my trace from me,
Quote
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Steve>tracert 208.49.83.45

Tracing route to ge5-3.news-rt3.usenetserver.com [208.49.83.45]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms xxxxxxxxxxxxxx[192.168.51.1]
2 21 ms 21 ms 32 ms lo0-plusnet.pte-ag2.plus.net [195.166.128.72]
3 20 ms 19 ms 20 ms ge0-0-0-504.pte-gw1.plus.net [84.92.4.89]
4 21 ms 21 ms 21 ms ge1-0-0-23.ptn-gw1.plus.net [212.159.4.17]
5 21 ms 20 ms 20 ms 195.66.226.167
6 131 ms 135 ms 131 ms wvfiber.ge2-2.br01.atl01.pccwbtn.net [63.216.31.
138]
7 131 ms 131 ms 133 ms atl-a00.ge-1-0.atl-b01.ge-1-1.wvfiber.net [63.22
3.8.45]
8 132 ms 132 ms 134 ms ge5-3.news-rt3.usenetserver.com [208.49.83.45]

Trace complete.


The 8th hop on the return i posted first is it sposed to be like that..?
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

For Att of Dthomlinson

If it's going across the atlantic then the 8th hop is probably normal, here's a trace to ebay

D:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>tracert www.ebay.com

Tracing route to hp-core.ebay.com [66.135.208.89]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <10 ms <10 ms <10 ms 192.168.0.1
2 26 ms 28 ms 25 ms lo0-plusnet.ptn-ag2.plus.net [195.166.128.53]
3 27 ms 27 ms 35 ms ge1-0-0-204.ptn-gw2.plus.net [84.92.3.106]
4 34 ms 26 ms 24 ms ge-4-1.metro1-londencyh00.London1.Level3.net [21
2.113.11.33]
5 31 ms 29 ms 25 ms so-1-3-0.gar2.London1.Level3.net [212.113.3.29]

6 31 ms 31 ms 29 ms ge-0-3-0-0.bbr2.London1.Level3.net [4.68.128.125
]
7 168 ms 168 ms 170 ms so-3-0-0.mp1.SanFrancisco1.Level3.net [209.247.8
.89]
8 170 ms 170 ms 170 ms so-2-0-0.mpls1.Sacramento1.Level3.net [209.247.8
.78]
9 181 ms 169 ms 170 ms so-10-0.hsa1.Sacremento1.Level3.net [4.68.113.58
]
10 * * * Request timed out.

jumps by over 100ms between London and San Francisco.

If the newsserver you are tracing to is in Europe then something is definately up at hop 8.
kwhawell
Grafter
Posts: 82
Registered: 30-07-2007

For Att of Dthomlinson

anyone any idea why my trace below times out getting to microsoft's server at www.microsoft.com?

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Brian Whawell>tracert www.microsoft.com

Tracing route to lb1.www.ms.akadns.net [207.46.198.30]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 21 ms 21 ms 20 ms lo0-plusnet.ptn-ag2.plus.net [195.166.128.53]
2 20 ms 19 ms 19 ms ge1-0-0-204.ptn-gw2.plus.net [84.92.3.106]
3 22 ms 20 ms 20 ms t2a1-ge5-2.uk-lon1.eu.bt.net [166.49.211.9]
4 21 ms 19 ms 20 ms t2c2-ge7-2.uk-lon1.eu.bt.net [166.49.135.109]
5 21 ms 21 ms 19 ms t2c1-p4-3.uk-eal.eu.bt.net [166.49.208.109]
6 111 ms 111 ms 111 ms t2c1-p4-1.us-ash.eu.bt.net [166.49.164.74]
7 131 ms 132 ms 129 ms 166-49-151-134.eu.bt.net [166.49.151.134]
8 128 ms 130 ms 130 ms 207.46.47.65
9 215 ms 214 ms 213 ms pos6-2.wst-76cb-1b.ntwk.msn.net [207.46.35.97]
10 215 ms 213 ms 213 ms pos1-0.iusnixcpxc1202.ntwk.msn.net [207.46.36.21
4]
11 196 ms 196 ms 195 ms pos1-0.tke-12ix-2b.ntwk.msn.net [207.46.155.13]

12 189 ms 186 ms 186 ms po12.tuk-65ns-mcs-1b.ntwk.msn.net [207.46.224.15
2]
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 po12.tuk-65ns-mcs-1b.ntwk.msn.net [207.46.224.152] reports: Destination ne
t unreachable.

Trace complete.

What exactly can I try to fix this,
seems as if I go to the site via browser, it works.

PS running the same rout trace again, and it times out starting at hop 7.
N/A

For Att of Dthomlinson

just done the microsoft myself

Quote
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Steve>tracert www.microsoft.com

Tracing route to lb1.www.ms.akadns.net [207.46.20.60]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms xxxxxxxxxx[1xx.1xx.xx.1]
2 191 ms 145 ms 175 ms lo0-plusnet.pte-ag2.plus.net [195.166.128.72]
3 147 ms 170 ms 166 ms ge0-0-0-504.pte-gw2.plus.net [84.92.4.90]
4 122 ms 100 ms 88 ms 195.50.117.169
5 98 ms 23 ms 21 ms ae-0-52.bbr2.London1.Level3.net [212.187.131.34]

6 155 ms 155 ms 219 ms so-1-0-0.mp2.Seattle1.Level3.net [209.247.10.133
]
7 155 ms 160 ms 166 ms ge-11-0.hsa1.Seattle1.Level3.net [4.68.105.38]
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 * * * Request timed out.
11


not stable there
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

For Att of Dthomlinson

That's normal. Microsoft have multiple mirrors, hence the different traces, but block pings so their servers won't respond to ping or tracert.
N/A

For Att of Dthomlinson

@Dave

what about the pings on hop 2...3..4 my last tracert
Quote
2 191 ms 145 ms 175 ms lo0-plusnet.pte-ag2.plus.net [195.166.128.72]
3 147 ms 170 ms 166 ms ge0-0-0-504.pte-gw2.plus.net [84.92.4.90]
4 122 ms 100 ms 88 ms 195.50.117.169


thxs
kwhawell
Grafter
Posts: 82
Registered: 30-07-2007

For Att of Dthomlinson

Thanks for the info on that Dave.
a day where i don't learn, anything is a day wasted,
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

For Att of Dthomlinson

Quote


what about the pings on hop 2...3..4 my last tracert
2 191 ms 145 ms 175 ms lo0-plusnet.pte-ag2.plus.net [195.166.128.72]
3 147 ms 170 ms 166 ms ge0-0-0-504.pte-gw2.plus.net [84.92.4.90]
4 122 ms 100 ms 88 ms 195.50.117.169


Were you using the connection at the time? If you are uploading/downloading at the same time it will affect your ping times.

Edit: fixed quote
N/A

For Att of Dthomlinson

@Dave
Lol youll be having to plaster your fingers soon.

No stoped all testing just did the tracert by itself,
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

For Att of Dthomlinson

Nah, still time to beat my 3,000 word post from the other day Smiley

Run, the trace again and see if it's back to normal, it might just be a one-off, otherwise start looking for a pattern, try rebooting PC and router, check the speed tests.