cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Exchange full? Who's responsible?

N/A

Hi I am posting this on behalf of my parents who have been with plusnet for a number of months.

They recently moved house and kept the plustnet account (broadband) active.

However, it transpired that the exchange at their new location is apparently "full". Now I am no expert in any of this technical stuff, but I used the plustnet exchange checker, and the one on samknows and they both indicate that the exchange is fine (Barry exchange).

My mum contacted plusnet directly to enquire why they hadn't been connected, but was simply told that it was a problem with BT and not an issue for plusnet.

My mum contacted BT who then said there was nothing that they could do and that she should follow it up with plusnet!!

So basically my mum has been left in the lurch, and has been forced to revert to a plusnet dialup account.

What can she do about this? Is this an issue that she should follow up with Plusnet? Or should she try BT?

Any advice and help is gratefully appreciated because I'm sure that you can appreciate how painful it is using dialup again after the speeds of broadband.

Many thanks
8 REPLIES
N/A

In short, its down to BT.

Plus Net place the order with BT Wholesale and its up to them to act on it. If there is no capacity at your exchange, then even with the best will in the world, Plus Net are powerless to physically fix this situation.

Until BT get around to increasing capacity at the exchange (which they will) there is nothing you can do.

There is no-one in BT you can talk to about this really. BT Retail only deal with the voice side of your line and BT Wholesale will only speak to ISP's.

The long and the short of it is, that all you can do is sit tight. All and any ISP will be in the same boat, including BT Broadband.
Saturn
Grafter

But the exchange is fine :?