cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Exceeding monthly download limit

N/A

Hi, please help, I'm not a techie and not very computer literate so please bear with me!

Ok, my monthly download limit has always been 2gb, which I have hardly ever exceeded. However this month I have exceeded 10gb!!!!! I do not file share or download any large files/videos/music. I have run adware, spyware, mcafee, norton and avg..........all of which have reported no problems. I have left my pc off for a full day and plusnet have confirmed my usage for that day was zero. I do not have a wireless router. So what can the problem be? as I'm really at a loss to work out why this is happeningHuhHuh? any assistance would really be appreciated, thanks in advance
13 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Fixes: 8

I did that once - traced it to using Firefox to view the Plusnet webcams.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran

Further thought: You could monitor activity using NetMeter
N/A

thanks for the advice, I'll give it a go!
Community Veteran

What firewall do you use?
N/A

Norton and i've recently downloaded avg
N/A

could you also just briefly explain how firefox works, thanks. I've download the netmeter but it there any way of finding the name of the source of activity rather than just usage totals?
Community Veteran
Fixes: 54

I am not familiar with the latest Norton Firewall but does it have the option to show the active network applications and traffic.
Community Veteran

could you also just briefly explain how firefox works, thanks. I've download the netmeter but it there any way of finding the name of the source of activity rather than just usage totals?

Firefox is a browser (replacement to Internet Explorer).