cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Don't Blame the CSC Agent!

N/A

It doesn't take a genius to see that all is not well with PlusNet support services at the moment. I have been with PlusNet for 4 years and as an IT Consultant I have made recommendation of their services on countless occasions, with all of my clients being (mostly happy) PlusNet members too.

Sadly it was obvious that their reputation would change when they announced a premium rate phone line. In my book this is tantamount to moving the CSC eastwards! I imagine that the management team responsible for recent changes – and current woes – will be very busy, if they are still employed!

I have attempted to contact PlusNet recently by phone. I was informed that the wait would be in excess of an hour. Why would anyone wait for an hour? Life is way too short. Doing so would mean give rise to the inevitability of displaying a “short temper” when a CSC agent eventually answers. This would be unfair for both parties.

Currently I don’t have any outstanding issues/tickets (except a complaint which has been outstanding for long enough to have become irrelevant). However several of my clients do have tickets open, some of which have been unanswered for several days.

I am now under pressure to resolve these issues, where possible, or my clients may want to go elsewhere for their ISP. And if one does, they will all have to. I am not in the business of patronizing more than one ISP as it creates additional support overhead for me.

Personally I am not convinced that the broadband consumer market is ready for 8mb DSL speeds. So much seems to be dependent on BT. And if the current PlusNet support saga is any indication, perhaps we should stick with a “slower” service for the sake of continuity of service and our sanity.

Whatever happened to dial-up? Or tin cans and string?