cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DSLMAX does not work for us! How can we help ourselves???

N/A

DSLMAX does not work for us! How can we help ourselves???

Unfortunately, I had a nice stable 1Meg connection but now have at best circa 400Kbps and at times as low as 160 Kbps (info from btspeedtest).
Customer service do not appear able to do much if anything, thay take at least 4 days to respond to an ongoing ticket and frankly have not come up with anything that gives me any comfort that something can be done to help!!

My connection regularly synchs at about 1.6Meg. Attenuation is +31.5 Up and +55.3 Down. Noise margin is +19.0 Up nad +11.1 Down. I quote thes but do not really know what effect any of this has!

Prodigy Networks yields the following info about my exchange:
This exchange is fully enabled for rate adaptive (500k) ADSL, fully enabled for fixed rate (1000k and 2000k) ADSL, and fully enabled for Max ADSL (upto 8000k).
and about my line:
This line has ADSL fully installed on it. There are no open orders currently on this line.
Line speed capabilities
Rate adaptive (250k and 500k) : Green
Fixed Rate (1000k and 2000k) : Amber
MAX speed (upto 8000k) : Green (3000 kbps)

www.samknows.com/broadband/checker2.php
Yields the following info also
BT ADSL broadband availability
You are connected to the Cramlington telephone exchange.
ADSL is available in your area
Your exchange is also enabled for ADSL Max services

According to BT Wholesale, your line should be able to support a 3Mbps or greater ADSL connection via ADSL Max.

Standard ADSL RAG results:
[BT ADSL Code: AEGEGEC] You cannot receive 2Mbps ADSL
[BT ADSL Code: AEGEGEC] You may be able to receive 1Mbps ADSL
[BT ADSL Code: AEGEGEC] You can receive 512Kbps ADSL
[BT ADSL Code: AEGEGEC] You can receive 256Kbps ADSL

You are approximately 1.25km from the exchange (straight line distance).

There appears to a compatibility issue with your phone line. This could be caused by an existing DSL connection, ISDN, a DACS unit, TPON, a pending ADSL order or many other common issues. This will need to be resolved before ADSL can be supplied to your line.

Your BT ADSL code is: AEGEGEC

I just cannot believe there is nothing that can be done to address poor performance, whether this needs to be done by myself, Plusnet or BT.

On the bais that Plusnet have been unable to give me any glimmer of hope I thought throwing this open to any 'specialists' may help not only myself but others who are also stuck in this state of limbo!!

I am sure we would all appreciate some 'informed' recommendations. Sad
31 REPLIES
N/A

DSLMAX does not work for us! How can we help ourselves???

I have the same sort of problems in the evening ,web usage is very slow .
I think most of understand that its early days for max dsl but the things I want to know are as follows-

whose responsibility are the problems we are getting? is it plusnet or bt wholesale
if its plusnet ,fine ,give us an answer on here
if it is bt then fine again but plusnet you need to sort this out as our contract is with you,Plusnet, NOT with BT.

so please NO FOB OFFS. Just give us the answers and none of this "well its peak time and we are sharing with other customers"
Thhis really is not acceptable, paying for a service that we really are not being provided with. E-mails are constantly going down, unstable connections, cannot connect to internet, disconnecting from server. As you can see, this is not acceptable in any shape or form. What do you, Plusnet, propose to do about this?

(kdowson-sorry to hijack your post but looks like we have the same problem and the same fob offs from Plusnet.)
N/A

DSLMAX does not work for us! How can we help ourselves???

Ionsb, thanks for your input. I totally understand how you feel.
I will not acept that there is nothing that can be done - there has to be an answer somewhere!
At this point I do not know where the issue really does need addressing but consider that BT is the most likely culprit. Would be good to find out just what is needed to be done and how to fix this eh!!
N/A

DSLMAX does not work for us! How can we help ourselves???

Looks like there are not many suggestions on just how we can help ourselves!!
N/A

DSLMAX does not work for us! How can we help ourselves???

Hi there

Fully support your initiative. It's obvious from reading any number of posts on these forums that there are many many people suffering dreadful or non-existant customer service from Plusnet and are stuck in a rut with this awful DSLmax service, with no apparent way of figuring out how to get the problem solved. I just want to go back to how I was before they "upgraded" me to DSLmax!!!

It''s a great shame because up until this DSLmax debacle I had been a very happy Plusnet customer of more than 2 years and had recommended Plusnet to many friends. I certainly won't be doing that any more.

One thing we could do is "open a book" for people to sign if they are dissatisfied with Plusnet's approach to this whole problem. Once we have a large number of signatures (I'm sure it won't take long) we present a petition to the CEO and keep reminding him or her of it until he or she starts to do something about it. And if he/she takes no notice we start copying Watchdog, Ofcom etc. Let's hope we don't have to go that far.

Can't think of anything else to try.....

Waht do you think?
N/A

The 'up to 8Mbps' ADSLMax Nightmare

N/A

another link!!!

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,364
Thanks: 15
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: DSLMAX does not work for us! How can we help ourselves??

Quote

My connection regularly synchs at about 1.6Meg. Attenuation is +31.5 Up and +55.3 Down. Noise margin is +19.0 Up nad +11.1 Down. I quote thes but do not really know what effect any of this has!


OK, so lets start with the basics, reading other posts here you should be able to see the pattern.

First and most importantly, you need to be sure about your sync speeds reported by your modem. So you quote a downstream 1600kb/s and 11dB SNR, your attenuation values are both high but we will not focuse on them for the time being.

Have you seen your speed to be below 1152kb/s, if you do this will put you on a low value of stable rate. So what is your stable rate value shown here.

Your 11dB SNR suggests, if your line is not noisy could go much faster than 1600kb/s.

SW.
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
N/A

DSLMAX does not work for us! How can we help ourselves???

Hi,
I have had synch speeds of less that 1 meg but as I previously stated the norm is 1.5 to 1.6 meg but have seen on the odd occasion 2+ meg.

For whatever reason today I am getting 900Kbps speed which is near what I got before maxdsl. The synch speed is 1.5Mbps

I also got the following message today from plusnet
[internal]

Start Time Throughput in Bits Throughput in Bytes IP Address Browser Operating System
29/06/06 07:49:02 973 118 217.47.207.125 Mozilla 5.0 Windows XP
28/06/06 23:05:30 814 99 217.47.207.61 Mozilla 5.0 Windows XP
28/06/06 21:21:17 956 116 217.47.207.61 Mozilla 5.0 Windows XP
28/06/06 19:06:35 953 116 217.47.207.125 Mozilla 5.0 Windows XP
28/06/06 08:13:44 339 41 217.47.207.61 Mozilla 5.0 Windows XP
28/06/06 00:57:23 487 59 217.47.207.125 Mozilla 5.0 Windows XP

Downstream xDSL Link Info
Loop Loss 53 dB
Margin 15 dB
Errored Seconds 52
HEC Errors 0
Cell Count 1466
Speed 1632 k

DSL MAX
Downstream Line Rate 1152
Downstream Line Rate Timestamp 28/06/2006 13:10:38
Maximum Stable Rate Re-set (Y/N) N
Profile Change Time 26/05/2006 17:17:55
Maximum Stable Rate 576
Fault Threshold Rate 403
Interleaved Auto

followed by :-
First of all I would just like to confirm that the MSR has no impact on the actual speed of the connection.

The MSR is what is used to set the FTR (Fault Threshold Rate) on MaxDSL and this in itself only relates to the level at which your connection synchs up.

If you were to synch up to the internet lower than the MSR, then this would be a BT fault on the line.

As to your speed issues, I have confirmed the tests completed and the level at which MaxDSL has set your connection, but unfortunately this shows as performing within BT's limits for the connection and we are unable to raise this further as a fault.

The reason for this being that the MaxDSL service has set the fastest speed your line can reliably support at 1MB, and for BT to accept this as a speed fault your Speedtester results need to be below a score of 200, and at the moment they are all above this.

Now with MaxDSL it is a rate adaptive servicem, which means that each time you connect to the internet the line and exchange will test the service and connect you on the fastest speed your line can support reliably, so you may see the speed increase and change from time to time, but at the moment I am afraid there is nothing further we can do until the speedtests fall below 200.

Kind Regards,
Mick Booth

If I thought I would get at least 1 meg I would not be that unhappy for th time being but in the ideal world I still would like to understand just how do I manage to get lets say 3 meg +

Just for info the noise margin is currently +20 up and +15.3 down and the attenuation is the same as previously reported.

I just do not understand why I get twice the speed today versus say yesterday. What will tommorrow bringHuh

I do very much appreciate any help you can give me.

Regards, Keith
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,364
Thanks: 15
Registered: 06-04-2007

DSLMAX does not work for us! How can we help ourselves???

Answer the questions above ...

SW.
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
N/A

DSLMAX does not work for us! How can we help ourselves???

Most of the time my stable rate has been 500 but for whatever reason today it is 1000.

Thanks, Keith
N/A

DSLMAX does not work for us! How can we help ourselves???

Well as questioned above what will tommorrow bring? The answer is that my speed has halved again back to 500 from 1meg.

One question I have is that I do switch off my computer overnight. Is this having any affect on anything or should I be leaving this on all of the time?

Any recommendations?
Griffo
Grafter
Posts: 95
Registered: 30-07-2007

DSLMAX does not work for us! How can we help ourselves???

I am in the same boat as you mate. I have gone back down to 500 again today! I was on 1meg for a good few days solid, didn't seem to have any problems, but now it's dropped back down!

Seriously looking at switching to a fixed line product.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,364
Thanks: 15
Registered: 06-04-2007

DSLMAX does not work for us! How can we help ourselves???

Quote
... my speed has halved again back to 500 from 1meg.

... I do switch off my computer overnight. Is this having any affect ...


If your sync speed is below 1152kb/s then you will be put back to a stable rate value of 500. It will stay for three days assuming your do not sync again below 1152kb/s.

Switching off the compter is not a problem.

When you connect your modem each day, what is the Downstream Margin value reported by your modem?

SW.
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
N/A

DSLMAX does not work for us! How can we help ourselves???

My connection data has not changed ffrom my first post.
Noise margin up is 20.0 and down is 15 to 16
Attenuation is 31.5 up and 53 down

However, what I have found out is switching my Philips dect phone base station from one socket to another has resulted increased my synch speed to 1.8 to 1.9 meg. After a few days at this I got 1 meg again. Hopefully it will stay that way for a while.

What I have decided is to get BT in to check over the house wiring. I have fitted new BT active filters which did not seem to make any difference and I intend getting a zyxel modem / router so that this can be left always on.

Any other suggestions would be well received.

Thanks.