cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DNS servers buggering about again?

N/A

DNS servers buggering about again?

I registered a domain the other day, now its fully resolved blah blah.
It worked for about half a day, straight to my site, perfect.
Then, it resorts back to the registrars site, oook, check again, yup, reggers site.

Asked a bunch of people I know using different ISP`s arround the world, and the domain works fine for them?!

Are the DNS servers throwing a tantrum again or something? :roll:

The domain is deltaoutpost.com, just so you know.
9 REPLIES
LiamM
Grafter
Posts: 5,636
Registered: 12-08-2007

DNS servers buggering about again?

That site is resolving without problems for me.

Have you tried clearing your cache?

[EDIT - I am rather stupid, have just realised that I am indeed not at home on my PN connection. I'm at my girlfriends, and she is on Demon. Working fine on Demon then, perhaps this proves your point!]

[EDIT 2 - Just checked at home (don't ya love Remote Desktop) and resolves fine on my PN Connection at home.]
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

DNS servers buggering about again?

Hi,

From here it's pointing to a UK Reg page.

Have you changed the nameservers on the domain? As a whois is showing them as

NS1.HU-JULIET.COM 67.15.58.95
NS2.HU-JULIET.COM 67.15.58.96

but on a dig on our name servers I'm seeing

deltaoutpost.com. 67811 IN NS ns2.fast-hosts.org.
deltaoutpost.com. 67811 IN NS ns1.fast-hosts.org.

Which should be correct and when was it last changed?
N/A

DNS servers buggering about again?

NS1.HU-JULIET.COM 67.15.58.95
NS2.HU-JULIET.COM 67.15.58.96

These two are correct.
The nameservers were changed on the 12th.
During /most/ of yesterday the domain was working fine, but since late evening and till now, its back to the registrars site.
LiamM
Grafter
Posts: 5,636
Registered: 12-08-2007

DNS servers buggering about again?

Dave, I can access the site fine from both my home Plusnet 2Mb Connection and my Demon 512k Connection at my girlfriends house.

Plusnet DNS Servers I am using are :
212.159.6.10
212.159.6.9

Cheers,
Liam
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

DNS servers buggering about again?

Actually, looking at each DNS servers, 3 of them have the correct record cached, but 212.15.13.49 has the old record. I think it's just going to be a case of waiting for the TTL to expire and this will update to the correct record.

[dtomlinson@csctools dtomlinson]$ dig @212.159.13.49 deltaoutpost.com

; <<>> DiG 9.2.2-P3 <<>> @212.159.13.49 deltaoutpost.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 3453
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 2

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;deltaoutpost.com. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
deltaoutpost.com. 20227 IN A 213.171.192.236

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
deltaoutpost.com. 66711 IN NS ns1.fast-hosts.org.
deltaoutpost.com. 66711 IN NS ns2.fast-hosts.org.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns1.fast-hosts.org. 817 IN A 213.171.192.236
ns2.fast-hosts.org. 817 IN A 213.171.192.237

;; Query time: 9 msec
;; SERVER: 212.159.13.49#53(212.159.13.49)
;; WHEN: Mon Feb 14 17:12:40 2005
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 132
N/A

DNS servers buggering about again?

Oh well thats a shame, rather annoying to see it working one day then not the next.

Thanks anyway. Smiley
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

DNS servers buggering about again?

I suspect yesterday it was doing the look up on one of the other 3 DNS servers, but today is using the one that has the old record cached.
N/A

DNS servers buggering about again?

I stoped using PN's own dns servers a while back and just have my own dns server runnin. Definatly worth setting up
LiamM
Grafter
Posts: 5,636
Registered: 12-08-2007

DNS servers buggering about again?

How do you do that then? Thats interesting.

I've always found Plusnet DNS servers to be pretty reliable. They did go through a sticky period a few months ago I remember but PN kindly recommisioned some new kit IIRC.

If you're still having problems, manually set your DNS servers to the ones I posted above and then reconnect. You should then be able to see your site without problems.