cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connection "Locking" When Reaching Usage Levels

LiamM
Grafter
Posts: 5,636
Registered: 12-08-2007

Connection "Locking" When Reaching Usage Levels

The title is a little strange as I couldn't really summarise the idea.

Basically, with people paying for usage from April I thought it might be an idea to be able to implement a system which would allow the account owner to "lock" the connection after a certain amount of bandwidth had been used. For example, if on the £21.99 package with a 30Gb Fair Usage Amount, the ability to set a "lock" on all traffic when it reaches specific points up until 30Gb. Thus allowing management of bandwidth over the month. Might also be useful for parents to ensure their kids don't go downloading 24/7 and using up all the bandwidth.

Perhaps implement this as once you reach your limit, you can only access the portal, which will allow you to "unlock" your connection.

Are you with me lol?

Also, email notifications which you can set at certain points to automatically email you when a certain amount of usage has been used.

Thanks,
Liam

EDIT : Added a poll, might make it easier to see if this feature would interest anyone.
18 REPLIES
N/A

Connection "Locking" When Reaching Usage Levels

Sounds like a reasonable and sensible idea to me.

How easy to develop and implement it would be, remains to be seen.

Good call tho.

Having at first seen the word Poll I nearly ran a mile. Wink
LiamM
Grafter
Posts: 5,636
Registered: 12-08-2007

Connection "Locking" When Reaching Usage Levels

Haha lol yeah. "Oh god, not another one!"

Perhaps I will scare people off! Oh well, it's legitimate. And a bit of a break from the usual stream of Polls which seem to feature atm hehe.
N/A

Connection "Locking" When Reaching Usage Levels

A pleasant change indeed.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,983
Thanks: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Connection "Locking" When Reaching Usage Levels

At last a sensible poll :lol:
Yes if it was password protected so that the kids cant just override it I think its a very sound idea. Smiley
craigbrass
Grafter
Posts: 1,009
Registered: 30-07-2007

Connection "Locking" When Reaching Usage Levels

What would be a better idea would be to show a page like the ones for Virus Alert and Non-Bill-Payment saying you have reached your connection limit and then give three options :-
1. Upgrade.
2. Lock Account. If this is done put a locked page in place and say you can unlock it by clicking "here" but this will require username/password to the portal.
3. Continue using. If this is selected then it should show the screen every 2.5gb more over the limit the account goes.
LiamM
Grafter
Posts: 5,636
Registered: 12-08-2007

Connection "Locking" When Reaching Usage Levels

Sorry, I think you misunderstood. This idea is for the ability to set a lock to prevent going over, rather than when going over. for example, half way through your allowance, allowing you to ration it.

Cant explain too much, im restricted to the mini keyboard of my pocket pc.
benoh
Grafter
Posts: 272
Registered: 24-08-2007

Connection "Locking" When Reaching Usage Levels

Isnt this what the "Data Transfer Watch" tool does?

Im not sure, ive never used it!

Ben
csogilvie
Grafter
Posts: 5,852
Registered: 04-04-2007

Connection "Locking" When Reaching Usage Levels

Thats only for Lite Accounts I think, because its not there on my one.
craigbrass
Grafter
Posts: 1,009
Registered: 30-07-2007

Connection "Locking" When Reaching Usage Levels

But the point is that we are permitted to go over the limit if we want to, just not concecutivly for 3 months so maybe we had alot to download one month. Thats the idea of "Fair Useage" rather than crappy ISP's like Wanadoo who do "Capping" which disables your connection when you go over.
N/A

Connection "Locking" When Reaching Usage Levels

Thats right Colin.

That facility doesnt exist for Premier Accounts.
holdtight
Grafter
Posts: 1,634
Registered: 15-06-2007

Connection "Locking" When Reaching Usage Levels

Great idea and would prove very useful im sure !

i nearly ran at the sight of the word poll as well Wink thanks for a sensible
and very constructive one Cheesy
LiamM
Grafter
Posts: 5,636
Registered: 12-08-2007

Connection "Locking" When Reaching Usage Levels

No problem mate.
N/A

Connection "Locking" When Reaching Usage Levels

It is a quite a good idea, although you do have some ability to restrict usage on your router Wink
N/A

Re: Connection "Locking" When Reaching Usage Level

Quote

Perhaps implement this as once you reach your limit, you can only access the portal, which will allow you to "unlock" your connection.


Yeah, good idea. Cheesy