cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connection Hanging

Snarf
Grafter
Posts: 340
Thanks: 4
Registered: 04-08-2007

Connection Hanging

Hopefully someone has a simple answer to this.

My connection will sometimes pauses (i.e. loading web pages will hang), however if I activate the phone attached to the same filter, the moment I hear the dial tone my connection will start going again instantly.

Is this something to do with a dodgy filter in the wall or is there another problem. Alternatively, is this just a "feature"?
12 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 13,875
Thanks: 506
Fixes: 6
Registered: 01-08-2007

Connection Hanging

Sounds like a micro filter that has gone a bit cranky.

Do you use an extension lead or any double phone socket blocks? - Those have a negative effect too.
I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
Snarf
Grafter
Posts: 340
Thanks: 4
Registered: 04-08-2007

Connection Hanging

It's just a filter plugged into an upstairs phone socket - there's always the chance that the extension upstairs could be dodgy. At some point I should really try connecting the router downstairs to the master socket and see what sort of link speed I get.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,339
Thanks: 595
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Connection Hanging

You said the filter is in an upstairs phone socket. You have got a filter in the downstairs master socket as well haven't you. You can only get away without a filter if you have no phones, faxes, sky boxes etc plugged in downstairs.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Snarf
Grafter
Posts: 340
Thanks: 4
Registered: 04-08-2007

Connection Hanging

Yes, everywhere there's a phone there's a filter Smiley
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Connection Hanging

Are you connecting directly to your master socket? The best way of proving whether it's your wiring/filters is to plug a brand new filter directly into the test socket behind the master faceplate, and plug your modem and your phone into the filter.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,339
Thanks: 595
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Connection Hanging

I'd suggest the first thing you need to do is disconnect the extension and try directly in to the master socket.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Snarf
Grafter
Posts: 340
Thanks: 4
Registered: 04-08-2007

Connection Hanging

Hmm, checked all three internal phone sockets and none of them have a master socket in, is it possible it's located elsewhere or I don't have one? The house is a mid 80's end of terrace.
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Connection Hanging

Try the one nearest to the front entrance to your house as a starting point.
Snarf
Grafter
Posts: 340
Thanks: 4
Registered: 04-08-2007

Connection Hanging

Yup checked there, behind the socket were just a bunch of wires 2 or 3 of which were wired into the socket, but no other visible plugs.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,339
Thanks: 595
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Connection Hanging

Can you see where the wire comes in to your house from outside?

Also cable coming in often I think has eight wires and the extensions have four. That might help you sort out which is which.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Snarf
Grafter
Posts: 340
Thanks: 4
Registered: 04-08-2007

Connection Hanging

I believe I've found where the cable comes in. The socket nearest to the entrance certainly has more wires in it, but I'm certain there is no master socket there - perhaps I'll have a bit more of a hunt later on.
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Connection Hanging

Quite often, some of the older wired houses won't have a test socket inside the master socket itself, but as long as you are able to locate your master socket, and test from there, that's the best yu can do!