cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Change my static IP address?

aeroalfie
Grafter
Posts: 400
Registered: 03-10-2007

Change my static IP address?

I had this problem a short while ago but now its back - my incoming internet connection is always active even when im not - my fire wall is blocking what ever activity it is ( seems like loads of random IP's?) but I understand even though it is been blocked it is still chewing up my bandwidth. This first stated as soon as I switched account and got a different static IP address with it - could this be in some way related to the IP I have been assigned.

Should i raise a ticket?
13 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Change my static IP address?

You can't change your static IP unless you connection is being severly affected (DDos or compromised in some other way).

What you are seeing is normal 'internet noise' that everyone gets. Changing IP will not stop this and your firewall is doing what it was designed to do, block it.
aeroalfie
Grafter
Posts: 400
Registered: 03-10-2007

Change my static IP address?

Hello peter i had a different static IP on my old account and it never had this ammount of incoming activity - just over the past week or so there wans't this activity?
aeroalfie
Grafter
Posts: 400
Registered: 03-10-2007

Change my static IP address?

Just to update my fire wall has logged 7300 incomming connection attempts in 10 minutes :?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,442
Thanks: 686
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Change my static IP address?

Do you (or have you) used a P2P application?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
MysteryFCM
Grafter
Posts: 528
Registered: 30-08-2007

Change my static IP address?

Get yourself a packet monitor - this will help determine where the traffic is coming from, what they contain, and what they are directed at;

http://www.wfshome.com/wit.htm
aeroalfie
Grafter
Posts: 400
Registered: 03-10-2007

Change my static IP address?

Elvin: Yes, last night/this morning - currently turned off and blocked in/out through firewall

mysteryfcm: thanks for the link will give it a go now.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,442
Thanks: 686
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Change my static IP address?

Are you sure that these are not attempts by peers to download from you?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
MysteryFCM
Grafter
Posts: 528
Registered: 30-08-2007

Change my static IP address?

As elvin mentioned, if you are or have run P2P apps, chances are these are simply attempts to connect to the P2P client (I get these extremely frequently due to my brothers love of DC++).
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,124
Thanks: 4
Registered: 14-08-2007

Change my static IP address?

This is almost certainly connection attampts from P2P users. There systems are not informed that you are disconnected.
aeroalfie
Grafter
Posts: 400
Registered: 03-10-2007

Change my static IP address?

So this is people who I was connected to via bit torrent - what do I have to do stop just wait until they turn off their client or finish what ever torrent we were on?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,442
Thanks: 686
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Change my static IP address?

It's not just people who you've connected to - it's anyone in the world who wants the files you've got - that's the whole idea of Peer to Peer.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
craigbrass
Grafter
Posts: 1,009
Registered: 30-07-2007

Change my static IP address?

There is a way to get your static IP changed. Ask to get a block of 4 IPs and then leave it a few weeks and then ask to go back down to 1. That way, you end up with a new IP in the end. Worked for a friend of mine anyway Cheesy
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,442
Thanks: 686
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Change my static IP address?

But if he's using P2P there's no point. As soon as he starts using it on his new IP peers will start trying to connect to him.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)