cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't access news.grc.com, anyone else?

Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Can't access news.grc.com, anyone else?

Has anyone else got problems accessing the grc news server @ news.grc.com?

They changed their news server hardware on 8th Nov and ever since that time I have been unable to access it via Mozilla's mail and news using the name or IP address (69.28.135.241). I know the server is working as I can access it via a web based interface on www.grc.com and there are no reports of any probems with the server via that.

I can't ping it either.

I'm wondering if as a result of them changing their hardware (and location) plusnet have blocked access for homesurf users (which I am one of) as that does not allow access to binary newsgroups (news.grc.com is text based) and I don't have another plusnet ADSL user to check that.

Can any other homesurf and non-homesurf users conform if they can or can't access news.grc.com before I raise a ticket. Thanks.
21 REPLIES
N/A

Can't access news.grc.com, anyone else?

Hi There

I have had a word round and I cannot ping it either and as far as I can see the changes that have been made have stopped us being able to access the group. It may be that they have changed the IP range and we are just caching the old IP so I will continue looking into it and see if I can get any further.
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Can't access news.grc.com, anyone else?

The IP address I gave earlier is correct for the new server and news.grc.com does resolve to it so something else must be blocking access hence my thread here.

Even if it was caching the old IPs, using the new IP address directly should still work which is strange, unles it's some funny routing issue somewhere.
N/A

Can't access news.grc.com, anyone else?

Hey Peter

Indeed sir I was just tossing it out as an idea Smiley asked the networks guys and they are not sure it seems to be some routing outside out of our control but if I do get anywhere I will let you know.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,181
Thanks: 19
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Can't access news.grc.com, anyone else?

it works for me on the Old DIY self install ADSL
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
N/A

Can't access news.grc.com, anyone else?

I can connect to it fine on ADSL Home Self-Install.
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Can't access news.grc.com, anyone else?

Can either of you ping the server?

Also can you post a tracert/WinMTR to it.
lowry
Grafter
Posts: 478
Registered: 08-04-2007

Can't access news.grc.com, anyone else?

Hi Peter,
Here is a tracert to news.grc.com

Tracing route to news.grc.com [69.28.135.241]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 47 ms 39 ms 39 ms lo2.plusnet.ptn-ag1.plus.net [195.166.128.61]
2 37 ms 39 ms 39 ms ge0-0-0-901.ptn-gw2.plus.net [212.159.1.148]
3 37 ms 39 ms 39 ms ge1-1-0-23.ptn-gw1.plus.net [195.166.129.222]
4 37 ms 39 ms 39 ms 195.66.226.167
5 118 ms 109 ms 109 ms ge0-3-0-8.jr1.iad.llnw.net [63.218.94.10]
6 187 ms 179 ms 179 ms so5-0-3.jr1.lax.llnw.net [69.28.172.18]
7 198 ms 199 ms 189 ms so7-6-0.jr1.phx1.llnw.net [69.28.172.97]
8 198 ms 199 ms 199 ms ge1-0-0-5.jr1.phx3.llnw.net [69.28.139.254]
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 * * * Request timed out.

*It timed out from hop 9 onwards.
matt Wink
N/A

Can't access news.grc.com, anyone else?

Quote
Pinging news.grc.com [69.28.135.241] with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 69.28.135.241:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),


Quote
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| router - 0 | 87 | 87 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| scratchy.plus.net - 0 | 87 | 87 | 15 | 54 | 406 | 109 |
| gi1-2.vlan3.pth-gw4.plus.net - 0 | 87 | 87 | 15 | 56 | 391 | 94 |
| ge1-1-0-23.ptn-gw1.plus.net - 0 | 87 | 87 | 15 | 51 | 375 | 94 |
| 195.66.226.167 - 0 | 87 | 87 | 15 | 53 | 375 | 94 |
| ge0-3-0-8.jr1.iad.llnw.net - 0 | 87 | 87 | 78 | 121 | 437 | 140 |
| so5-0-3.jr1.lax.llnw.net - 2 | 87 | 86 | 156 | 190 | 500 | 235 |
| so7-0-0.jr1.phx1.llnw.net - 3 | 87 | 85 | 171 | 209 | 500 | 234 |
| ge1-0-0-5.jr1.phx3.llnw.net - 0 | 86 | 86 | 171 | 208 | 438 | 188 |
| No response from host - 100 | 86 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |

HTML version
N/A

Can't access news.grc.com, anyone else?

Would it be inappropriate to slag off GRC on this thread?
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Can't access news.grc.com, anyone else?

I'm taking the same route as you Chris except via homesurf so it's not a routing issue.

Any other homesurf users able to connect to news.grc.com? If you can't, that may indcate an issue with homesurf accounts and the news server.
LiamM
Grafter
Posts: 5,636
Registered: 12-08-2007

Can't access news.grc.com, anyone else?

Cant access this on 1Mb ADSL Home Premier.

Tracert is much the same, no ping response. Strange.

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|

| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| 192.168.0.1 - 0 | 50 | 50 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| lo1.plusnet.pth-ag2.plus.net - 0 | 50 | 50 | 15 | 15 | 31 | 16 |
| gi1-2.vlan3.pth-gw4.plus.net - 0 | 50 | 50 | 15 | 15 | 32 | 15 |
| ge1-1-0-23.ptn-gw1.plus.net - 0 | 50 | 50 | 15 | 16 | 62 | 16 |
| 195.66.226.167 - 0 | 50 | 50 | 15 | 25 | 203 | 16 |
| ge0-3-0-8.jr1.iad.llnw.net - 0 | 50 | 50 | 93 | 94 | 109 | 94 |
| so5-0-3.jr1.lax.llnw.net - 0 | 50 | 50 | 156 | 166 | 391 | 157 |
| so7-6-0.jr1.phx1.llnw.net - 0 | 50 | 50 | 187 | 193 | 406 | 187 |
| ge1-0-0-5.jr1.phx3.llnw.net - 0 | 50 | 50 | 187 | 192 | 344 | 188 |
| No response from host - 100 | 50 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,181
Thanks: 19
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Can't access news.grc.com, anyone else?

@Liam it cant be pinged as the ICMP's are blocked, it is a security related site. So add it in what ever email client you using and see if you can get theTopic lists and subscribe to a few to test.
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
N/A

Can't access news.grc.com, anyone else?

pings LMFAO.

Why not try making a connection on a proper TCP port.

[davidcam@dave davidcam]$ telnet news.grc.com 119

Trying 69.28.135.241...
Connected to news.grc.com.
Escape character is '^]'.
200 news.grc.com InterNetNews NNRP server INN 2.3.2 ready (posting ok)


meh!
LiamM
Grafter
Posts: 5,636
Registered: 12-08-2007

Can't access news.grc.com, anyone else?

Quote
pings LMFAO.
Why not try making a connection on a proper TCP port.


Please don't mock me. Shockedops: I'm not a user of Newsgroups hence my ignorance & was just trying to help. I'll shutup now!

adp450 - thanks for much more of an understanding post! Smiley Will try on Outlook when I'm back at home. Assuming that will work? If not, any other suggestions?

Thanks,