cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CGI server "Error 500"

Tony_W
Grafter
Posts: 745
Registered: 11-08-2007

CGI server "Error 500"

Using a link validator on my 'homepages' website report:

"500 Server closed connection without sending any data back"

for links directed to the CGI server that use the form http://www.mydomain.co.uk/xxxxxxxx.php - mydomain is hosted on the CGI server.

These links have been in place for 4-5 years and previous reports have shown no problems.

Since last week, the webstats for http://www.mydomain.co.uk have shown very few hits - not the case historically and also it does not agree with independent counters.

Has anyone else noticed similar problems?

If anyone has links to PHP on the CGI server from a different site, please can you run a link validator on them (e.g. http://www.htmlhelp.com/tools/valet/) to check them out.

It could be that things went wrong after last weeks move to the new CGI server system....

Tony
4 REPLIES
Tony_W
Grafter
Posts: 745
Registered: 11-08-2007

CGI server "Error 500"

Some additional information....

My previous link validation run was on 18th May 2007.

This showed the correct:

"302 Redirected to ..... "

for all of those links now showing the 500 error.
Tony_W
Grafter
Posts: 745
Registered: 11-08-2007

CGI server "Error 500"

Both Ping and Tracert fail to my CGI server hosted domain.

I have tried both F9 and OPENDNS DNS settings but the result is the same.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

CGI server "Error 500"

Hi,

We've seen a couple of similar reports in the last day or so and the network guys are investigating the cause. I'm not sure yet exactly what's wrong but it is being looked at.
Tony_W
Grafter
Posts: 745
Registered: 11-08-2007

CGI server "Error 500"

Do you wait until you have solved it before posting a service status message?