cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Browsing thru glue!

rammie1976
Grafter
Posts: 571
Registered: 02-09-2007

Browsing thru glue!

Everything is really slow - just tried ADSL speed test and it wouldn't 'run' - 0% progress...

Anyone else slooooooooooooooooowwww?



BB+ on Woodborough, Wilts. (Not over my peak d/l)
15 REPLIES
Ben_Brown
Grafter
Posts: 2,839
Registered: 13-06-2007

Browsing thru glue!

I know there have been problems with the speed test tool in the past, however I seem to remember that this was down to a software firewall people were using.

Do you run any such applications? If so have you tried without it?
rammie1976
Grafter
Posts: 571
Registered: 02-09-2007

Browsing thru glue!

Sorry, I didn't mean to imply a problem with ADSLguide's speed test as I'd tried it a few days ago and it was fine, and I was surfing okay until about 1545 (ish). I think also email went down this for about 15 mins this morning too and now it too is checking very slowly.

I wondered if there might be 'local' problems and was hoping that neither I nor BB+ were being throttled (more than normal that is).
Ben_Brown
Grafter
Posts: 2,839
Registered: 13-06-2007

Browsing thru glue!

I've not noticed any problems browsing recently. Have you tried doing some traceroutes to some of the sites you're trying to get to?
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,111
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

Browsing thru glue!

Interestingly, when I had a quick look at my mail client earlier (which I usually just leave to check mail periodically in the background), I noticed it was saying it had encountered an error trying to check a couple of my mailboxes via IMAP. A few minutes later though it was fine... unfortunately I can't remember what time this was, sorry, but just thought I'd mention it anyway.

Thomas
rammie1976
Grafter
Posts: 571
Registered: 02-09-2007

Browsing thru glue!

Sorry again, no idea about how to do/what traceroutes are.

Downstream 40.9 Kbps ( = 0.0 Mbps )
Upstream 229.8 Kbps ( = 0.2 Mbps )

Downstream 61.1 Kbps ( = 0.1 Mbps )
Upstream 228.8 Kbps ( = 0.2 Mbps )

Are two very slow ADSL speed test just completed. Any chance that the slow-down has anything to do with account throttling or peak time?
rammie1976
Grafter
Posts: 571
Registered: 02-09-2007

Browsing thru glue!

Hmmm

I've justed rebooted my wireless router and this is what I get now.

Downstream 1,859.2 Kbps ( = 1.8 Mbps )
Upstream 237.8 Kbps ( = 0.2 Mbps )

Which is what I'd expect, and things appear to have returned to normal speed.

:?
Ben_Brown
Grafter
Posts: 2,839
Registered: 13-06-2007

Browsing thru glue!

Click Here for information about performing a traceroute.
MysteryFCM
Grafter
Posts: 528
Registered: 30-08-2007

Browsing thru glue!

Start > Run, type: cmd

At the prompt, enter;

tracert [TARGET] > tracert.log

Where [TARGET] is the server you wish to trace to ....

i.e.



In the above screenshot, the output file "tracert.log" would be created in C:\. This will differ depending on where the above command is run from.
flyer99
Grafter
Posts: 70
Registered: 18-05-2007

Browsing thru glue!

It's not just you.
I am in the process of a large file download that has dropped from an average 3-4 MB down to approx 100k. Also browsing has come to a crawl. I have seen this issue before and have also rebooted to return things to normal but cant do so untill my download finishes. It's just normal plusnet service these days along with all the other things that work one day and not the next. Currently connected to Telehouse East, Juniper 3" gateway, so a 5minute switch off should move me to another gateway. My VPN tunnel is also suffering this afternoon. Cry
rammie1976
Grafter
Posts: 571
Registered: 02-09-2007

Browsing thru glue!

Thanks for the traceroute info.

Tracing route to www.plusnet.co.uk [212.159.8.137]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 2 ms 1 ms 1 ms . [192.168.1.1]
2 23 ms 21 ms 17 ms lo0-plusnet.thn-ag1.plus.net [195.166.128.80]
3 18 ms 17 ms 17 ms gi0-2-0-303.pte-gw2.plus.net [84.92.3.178]
4 16 ms 17 ms 17 ms ge0-0-0-22.ptn-gw1.plus.net [212.159.4.1]
5 19 ms 18 ms 18 ms 195.166.129.3
6 26 ms 26 ms 26 ms se3-0.pih-gw1.plus.net [195.166.129.250]
7 28 ms 28 ms 26 ms vlan8.pih-gw4.plus.net [212.159.0.30]
8 38 ms 37 ms 28 ms pih-al4.plus.net [212.159.1.36]
9 29 ms 26 ms 27 ms www.plusnet.co.uk [212.159.8.137]

Trace complete.

Tongue
rammie1976
Grafter
Posts: 571
Registered: 02-09-2007

Browsing thru glue!

I've forgotten but how do you check which gateway you're on, and which is the 'infamous' one?







ps fingers crossed for you solving your problem nick.
MysteryFCM
Grafter
Posts: 528
Registered: 30-08-2007

Browsing thru glue!

http://usertools.plus.net/@gateway

Notorious gateway lately is err, all of them, but the worst of them used to be thn-ag2
rammie1976
Grafter
Posts: 571
Registered: 02-09-2007

Browsing thru glue!

Quote
...Notorious gateway lately is err, all of them...


ooh you! Wink

Apparently I'm now on "Telehouse North, Juniper 5" gateway. This gateway is sometimes known as thn-ag1. Seems ok atm - ha! just as I typed that the connection 'dropped', hey ho.... :roll:
MysteryFCM
Grafter
Posts: 528
Registered: 30-08-2007

Browsing thru glue!

Rofl, same one as myself (connection dropped this morning and has been slow as heck ever since re-con)