cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband Interleaving

N/A

Broadband Interleaving

Just been checking through my connection settings this evening and I notice interleaving is switched on? I know for a fact it was switched off the last time I looked :?

Is there something strange going, why would PN enable it for me without asking?
16 REPLIES
Dean
Grafter
Posts: 98
Registered: 04-04-2007

Broadband Interleaving

when was the last time you looked?

Was it before the 13th September when the house move process completed? (Not sure if interleaving is turned on by default on a house move but I'll find out.)

If it was after that date - I'll have to dig deeper into processes and system.

Dean
N/A

Broadband Interleaving

Hey, yep it’s been a while since i looked, probably early September as I was out of the country while the dsl was moved. Pain free Wink

I appreciate your help.
N/A

Broadband Interleaving

So did you check? Smiley
csogilvie
Grafter
Posts: 5,852
Registered: 04-04-2007

Broadband Interleaving

Something tells me BT can auto-enable interleaving if there's a period of disconnects (or resynching) so that could have happened?
N/A

Broadband Interleaving

Nope, my connection has been pretty stable since we moved house, not noticed any random disconnects.

Actually, can you help me to understand these line rates. What speeds should i be achieving?


Upstream Downstream
Noise Margin 25 dB 6.5 dB
Output Power 12 dBm 20 dBm
Attenuation 29.5 dB 48 dB

Thanks
csogilvie
Grafter
Posts: 5,852
Registered: 04-04-2007

Broadband Interleaving

Quote
Actually, can you help me to understand these line rates.


Nope, unfortunately not as I've never quite managed t oget my head around the line rates etc. Sad
Dean
Grafter
Posts: 98
Registered: 04-04-2007

Broadband Interleaving

Quote
So did you check? Smiley


Want to speak to someone in the morning and understand the process before I open my mouth and talk Link:censored :-)

you'll allow me that wont you :-)

Dean

Moderators note by John (johnessex) Bypassing of swear filter removed. See the Link:rules
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Broadband Interleaving

What speed are you achieving?

Are you on BT (up to 2Mbs), BT Max (up to 8Mbs) or LLU (up to 8Mbs)?

The figures you quote are showing what they end up as (in the case of downstream SNR) once synced.

A wild guess is maybe 3 -> 3.5Mbs down, 448Kbs up.

And I do understand what the figures mean Tongue
N/A

Broadband Interleaving

Quote

Nope, unfortunately not as I've never quite managed t oget my head around the line rates etc. Sad


Nor me lol, thanks anyway Colin.

Quote

Want to speak to someone in the morning and understand the process before I open my mouth and talk "cr*p" :-)

you'll allow me that wont you :-)

Dean


Hey Dean, that’s totally fine. Im not in any rush.

Quote
What speed are you achieving?

Are you on BT (up to 2Mbs), BT Max (up to 8Mbs) or LLU (up to 8Mbs)?

The figures you quote are showing what they end up as (in the case of downstream SNR) once synced.

A wild guess is maybe 3 -> 3.5Mbs down, 448Kbs up.

And I do understand what the figures mean Tongue


Hi Mr Vaughan, almost correct!!

Up Stream 448 (Kbps.)

Down Stream 4384 (Kbps.)

So with interleaving off, would I sync at a lower speed or am I barking up the wrong tree? :?
csogilvie
Grafter
Posts: 5,852
Registered: 04-04-2007

Broadband Interleaving

Interleaving off synchs you at a higher rate, I think, which can cause line instability etc.

Acutally - when you moved house did you move straight to MaxDSL?
Dean
Grafter
Posts: 98
Registered: 04-04-2007

Broadband Interleaving

Correct!

Moderators note by John (johnessex) full quote of preceding post removed as per the Link:rules
N/A

Broadband Interleaving

Quote

Acutally - when you moved house did you move straight to MaxDSL?


Yep, when i got back from the States everything was up and running.
N/A

Broadband Interleaving

So what’s the general feeling then guys, shall I leave interleaving on?

I am worried about my ping though. 48ms average on this BF2 server, pretty poor that.

C:\Documents and Settings\*****>ping 193.93.45.178

Pinging 193.93.45.178 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 193.93.45.178: bytes=32 time=53ms TTL=120
Reply from 193.93.45.178: bytes=32 time=35ms TTL=120
Reply from 193.93.45.178: bytes=32 time=52ms TTL=120
Reply from 193.93.45.178: bytes=32 time=52ms TTL=120

Ping statistics for 193.93.45.178:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 35ms, Maximum = 53ms, Average = 48ms

Tried pinging Jolt also:

C:\Documents and Settings\*****>ping www.jolt.co.uk

Pinging www.jolt.co.uk [82.133.85.65] with 32 bytes of dat

Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=51ms TTL=56
Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=49ms TTL=56
Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=51ms TTL=56
Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=36ms TTL=56

Ping statistics for 82.133.85.65:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 36ms, Maximum = 51ms, Average = 46ms


Cry
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Broadband Interleaving

interleaving on Max can add 20 -> 40ms to your normal non-interleaving ping times.

Mine went from 16->20ms to 50 -> 60ms.