cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT speedtester error

N/A

BT speedtester error

I've been trying every speed test going to see what they say about this pitiful excuse of a connection I have currently, and upon using http://www.speedtester.bt.com/ I get this message:

Quote
System Error

The IP address discovered on the network associated with your telephone number:0208xxxxxxx, did not match the one we have logged from this browser/connection. Please check your telephone number and try again. If problem persists please contact your ISP.


My number is in correct, so is this something PN could look into?
17 REPLIES
passer
Grafter
Posts: 381
Registered: 06-04-2007

BT speedtester error

It's a bug.I get it sometimes, but eventually I get through.
shellsong
Grafter
Posts: 2,191
Registered: 03-08-2007

BT speedtester error

If I remember right that tester quite often does that-- you just have to persist until it works

It's more something BT need to look into! :roll:
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

BT speedtester error

The new speedtester is a right pain. It is *really* helpful in giving you some additional information, but at least the old one near enough always worked.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,364
Thanks: 15
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: BT speedtester error

Quote

My number is in correct, so is this something PN could look into?


Something may be up because I too repeatedly got that error this morning, previously I have never had this error ... just lots of others about the System Too Busy

SW.
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

BT speedtester error

Anyone getting this error message? I'll ask Sarah to raise it with BT if it is a common issue.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,339
Thanks: 595
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

BT speedtester error

I've just tried it and for the first time ever, it worked at the first attempt.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

BT speedtester error

*falls off chair*
N/A

BT speedtester error

Had that error message many times James...usually takes 2 or 3 more attempts for it to work.
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,729
Registered: 04-04-2007

BT speedtester error

Quote
*falls off chair*


Did anyone get a screen grap of the webcam?

Chilly Tongue
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

BT speedtester error

Nope, I'm in hiding Smiley Mand, Dave and I have a little corner on the CSC floor, although this is apparently subject to change so that we are more involved with the rest of the CSC and seen to be more easily approachable.
sophos9
Grafter
Posts: 760
Registered: 12-09-2007

BT speedtester error

Quote
Anyone getting this error message? I'll ask Sarah to raise it with BT if it is a common issue.


I get this error amounts several different ones, keep retrying and it works fine...
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,339
Thanks: 595
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

BT speedtester error

As the comms team are the ones we have most contact with, would it not be appropriate to have a specific Comms team webcam?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

BT speedtester error

Not if we're going to be moving desk soon Smiley

Plus I would object Cheesy
N/A

BT speedtester error

So would I, have you *seen* James?



You'll notice the img is linked so you can see who the picture really is. :lol: