cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT Voyager 205, a bunch of crap

arbitrabbit
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 30-07-2007

BT Voyager 205, a bunch of crap

Just got my plus net accunt activated today and had the bad fortune to be sent the BT voyager 205 by Plus. I open this modem and everything works fine for 30 minutes or so.... and then suddenly I just started getting time out.... disconnected and reconnected DSL, restarted modem but to no avail. Called up plusnet support and they had no clue about the problem. After a lot of googling and pining the device with a -t option, I realized that it is the stupid VOyager 205 which is dropping packets from the PC. It gets super hot and then starts dropping packets. Net is full of testimonials from people who have similar problem, and despite that plusnet keeps giving this modem/router? I know its "free", but being in the hi-tech industry myself, I also know that I am paying for it. So will plusnet send me a replacement modem instead of this crap?
39 REPLIES
N/A

BT Voyager 205, a bunch of crap

Hmm. I believe I will be sent this modem, I hope I do not get the same problem, does it always happen with this modem? Because if it does it is unacceptable.

One thing I may know is that my external modem on my other computer drops packets often, it may be the connection between the computer and the modem.

-Williams1662
arbitrabbit
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 30-07-2007

BT Voyager 205, a bunch of crap

Happens always with me atleast. Some more digging into forums revealed that the problem is probably due to a faulty power supply which supplies more current than required. BT is apparently giving its customers replacement modems but I guess plusnet is stuck with a bad lot or something. I am definitely hoping that they will replace mine too.
Another interesting thing that I found was in the troubleshooting section in the web interface of the modem, when I start the test, as soon as it starts to verify "Connected and authenticated to ISP" (Test 5), I get the connection back. I don't know what command is sent for that though, else I will simply send it all the time.
N/A

BT Voyager 205, a bunch of crap

BT Engineers use these modems when they come out to do line tests etc, so they must be fairly confident about quality.
Incidentally, the BT guy who came out to me the other day, could get a connection with a voyager usb modem, whilst my Netgear 843 Router could not detect a dsl signal and get in sync. Fortunately he managed to make some alterations to reduce line loss with positive results.
Aside from the speed testers which are readily available, it would perhaps be helpful if BT made their diagnostic program available over the net. From what the chap showed me, there was no real specialist knowledge needed to understand the results, as long as a table was supplied showing what each of the results should be for optimum speed for each product. (Apparently my line was within the tolerances for a 512k product, but at the time was not suitable for the 1Mb account I have, since the repairs I am told I should be able to receive 2Mb)
arbitrabbit
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 30-07-2007

BT Voyager 205, a bunch of crap

In my case, its not the DSL that seems to be the problem.... there is no reason whatsoever for the modem to start pinging out after 10-15 pings, which is exactly what happens.... I am not trying to ping anything on the WAN interface. It is the LAN interface which is going down, which can be only down to one thing, the modem stops responding.
holdtight
Grafter
Posts: 1,634
Registered: 15-06-2007

BT Voyager 205, a bunch of crap

Ive set up several people with this equiptment and not had any issues with it losing sync or dropping packets
there is the possibility that you have a faulty one it does happen, can you borrow a modem/router to test this on your line ?
arbitrabbit
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 30-07-2007

BT Voyager 205, a bunch of crap

Yeah, thats what I am planning to do.... too bad I can only do it after monday as thats when I will be getting my old modem back.
I am surprised that no one has had any issues... there are forums out there full of people with the same problem.
arbitrabbit
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 30-07-2007

BT Voyager 205, a bunch of crap

Btw, this is what it looks like for me:

Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Request timed out.
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Request timed out.
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Request timed out.
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
holdtight
Grafter
Posts: 1,634
Registered: 15-06-2007

BT Voyager 205, a bunch of crap

Thats not good Cry is this the connection log from the router or the internal network wan side ping ?
arbitrabbit
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 30-07-2007

BT Voyager 205, a bunch of crap

This is my computer pinging the router.... now that you mention it, I think I can telnet the router and try to ping my computer from in there and also try to do the same for the WAN interface.... too bad I am at work right now (by the way, my computer is connected to the router over ethernet, so shouldn't be any USB issues)
arbitrabbit
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 30-07-2007

BT Voyager 205, a bunch of crap

I might have found the cause of the problem.... its the router definitely but I think I have identified the trigger.....and it was Azureus. Seems that the router has a buffer overflow which gets triggered by azureus (or maybe it just can't handle so many connections and takes the interface down). The only way to start interner again is to take the WAN interface on the router down and bring it back up. Still trying to figure out how to make azureus work (obvious solution will be to limit the number of connections in Azureus). But maybe there is be some tweak in the modem which will allow me to go around this?
arbitrabbit
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 30-07-2007

BT Voyager 205, a bunch of crap

Got my old SMC Barricade instead of BT voyager 205 and everything is fine and dandy now... in case you are having p2p or bittorrent problems (connection drop) then now you know who is to blame.
Btw, I called up the BT tech support using a friend's username and they were actually aware of the problem with the VOayager... they thought it was a firewall problem in the voyager which somehow blocks all the interfaces in case the modem received excess traffic. But they didn't have a fix.
holdtight
Grafter
Posts: 1,634
Registered: 15-06-2007

BT Voyager 205, a bunch of crap

Glad you got it sorted mate Cheesy
N/A

Same here

Got Premier and the Voyager 205 today, all was fine, but Azureus killed it -- as did, BTW, BitComet.

Everything starts out fine, but as soon as you fire up Azureus, packet loss goes straight to 30% or higher, and web pages start timing out. Hardware reset on the router didn't solve it, port forwarding didn't help, but as soon as you end Azureus, things slowly revert to normal.

Is there any other solution other than changing the router? (I've had it for eight hours, and expected it to last slightly longer ;-)
hitachi
Grafter
Posts: 343
Registered: 05-04-2007

BT Voyager 205, a bunch of crap

Have you tried limiting the amount of connections ? some routers get swamped if this is set to high.