cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT Speedtest page

simonh
Grafter
Posts: 131
Registered: 28-08-2007

BT Speedtest page

Hi all.

Every time I try to do the BT speedtest as per the guide on the Usertools site, all I get is "page cannot be displayed". I use the Binatone USB modem supplied by Plusnet, and when I have changed the login settings it says I must enter a password, which I gather isn't needed to access the BT speedtest. Could my firewall be causing a problem? Anyone have any ideas?

Cheers

Simon.
11 REPLIES
N/A

BT Speedtest page

I've used it before and I think the password it "tester"
simonh
Grafter
Posts: 131
Registered: 28-08-2007

BT Speedtest page

OK, cheers, I'll give it a try later.
N/A

BT Speedtest page

Hi Simon,

I've just had another look at the information about the BT Speed Tester and here is an extract:

Username: speedtest@speedtest_domain
Password: testing
Once connected you can run the Speedtest from one of the following two URL's.
http://speedtester.bt.com or http://217.32.105.42

Cheers,
Peter
simonh
Grafter
Posts: 131
Registered: 28-08-2007

BT Speedtest page

Thanks again, Peter.
LiamM
Grafter
Posts: 5,636
Registered: 12-08-2007

BT Speedtest page

AFAIK there is no password for the Speedtester. You can connect to it with any password.

However, if you have your DNS manually set to PN, then you'll need to manually enter the IP address of the speedtest server.
N/A

BT Speedtest page

Liam,

If you follow the contact us wizard there is a BT speedtest account that requires a password:

"Help Wizard

The BT Speed Tester can test the speed of your connection across BT's network before it reaches us. Used in conjunction with other tests it can isolate where any speed issue is happening.

To use the BT Speed Tester you will need to disconnect your ADSL connection and re-connect using the following username and password

Username: speedtest@speedtest_domain

Password: testing

Once connected you can run the Speedtest from one of the following two URL's.

http://speedtester.bt.com or http://217.32.105.42

Please note that this speedtest is only available when using this test username, it will not work when logged in on your own username."

You need to use this account if your router requires a password (like the Solwise SAR110)


Steve
LiamM
Grafter
Posts: 5,636
Registered: 12-08-2007

BT Speedtest page

I think that is just to give you something to put in though (for routers that won't accept no password). I am sure it will work blank, or with just any password.
N/A

BT Speedtest page

Just worked on my DG834G with no password.
N/A

BT Speedtest page

Yes I was just trying to say that some routers require passwords.

I would like to point out there are two links to BT speedtest pages one that tells you to input a password one that does not (can't find the link that does not now but I am sure it is there). I found the one that does not when I was having speed problems (still am but exchange VP are red so that is probably why) it was quite frustrating at the time when my router would not log in without a pasword and when I tried to use any password like 'password' it was not accepted. I will post the link if I can find it again.

Steve
simonh
Grafter
Posts: 131
Registered: 28-08-2007

BT Speedtest page

http://usertools.plus.net/tutorials/id/27

This one says to leave the password blank.
LiamM
Grafter
Posts: 5,636
Registered: 12-08-2007

BT Speedtest page

Yes. As I said, password is irrelevant. So it will accept nothing, or anything. Different methods of how to do it will tell you to put differing passwords in, but in reality - it makes no difference.