cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BF2 Connection issues

N/A

BF2 Connection issues

as the previous thred was unresolved and issues are ongoing
i have taken the suggested route and continued the thread as a new one
moderators please link this to the old thread if you can
14 REPLIES
N/A

BF2 Connection issues

It might be an idea if you highlight what issues you are now experiencing including traceroutes to the servers etc.

This post from Stewart Norriss may also be of help / relevance and the UserGroup article here will help to summarise the problems .

The original BF2 issues should now be sorted but whatever is occuring now would need to be detailed.
pebbles
Grafter
Posts: 69
Registered: 13-08-2007

BF2 Connection issues

I'm still having an issue with plusnet not confirming which priority (gold, titanium etc) the gaming traffic has. It has been mentioned by pn techies a number of times in the previous thread that its in gold, but the advertisement on the web says it should be in titanium with voip traffic, it could explain the spikes were getting.

again the link

http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/network/traffic_management.shtml

again a copy of the web

Titanium Time critical traffic: e.g. VoIP and gaming Fast - Up to line speed*

Gold Priority non-time critical traffic: e.g. surfing, email and streaming media Fast - Up to line speed*

Silver Non-time critical traffic: e.g. file downloads, P2P, Usenet and FTP traffic Average - speeds up to 500Kbps


do I have to quote the engineers too, all we require is a simple answer, not a biggy really but its the third time I have asked this and paranoia is starting to set in, and its a fact that in the previous thread with its 700+ posts pn engineers/techies keep on refering to gold for gaming traffic, see my point?

day of defeat the halflife mod still running quiet well but pings around 10ms higher than normal and spikes every few mins, same as last week, will keep playing but payg looking like our best option at this time, less money for more service now that might just catch on!
Neil_A
Grafter
Posts: 450
Registered: 04-04-2007

BF2 Connection issues

Hi there,

Gaming is definitely in titanium. I think our guys have been referring to gold where we've been putting unidentified traffic suspected to be gaming into gold.

With some of the automation that we expect to get later this month and in March we'll be updating the graphs on the portals to be able to show the different priorities - potentially to include packet loss and latency.

Hope that helps. Thanks
pebbles
Grafter
Posts: 69
Registered: 13-08-2007

BF2 Connection issues

Thanks Neil that does clear that little question up.
N/A

BF2 Connection issues

Still getting terrible pings with FarCry, I switched from premier to PAYG which seemed to do the trick....... for all of two days, and now its back worse than ever.
As a quick check I used task managers network utilisation graph and I only need 100Kb throughput :? my worst speedtest has been in the 400k range but that was made up of much higher peaks with the connection droping to ZERO :!: :!: this zero connection also happens ingame hence the lags and high pings and ulost packets
benskia
Grafter
Posts: 108
Registered: 17-09-2007

BF2 Connection issues

Hi.
I'll repeat my post here, since MartinFamily decided to lock it. Even though from the sounds of things, the problem reported in this thread sounds different:

All I've done for the last couple of hours is try and arrange to log onto a server that works for me with a couple of my mates.

It's been a waste of an evening.

Everytime I get onto a server, I get the message "There is a problem with your connection."

Then I get booted back to the menu.

Is there problems tonight? Anyone else getting the same?
Pings are okay to the servers. So is browsing speed.
I just get kicked as soon as the menu comes up asking me to pick a class.

Here's a tracert to one of the the servers:
C:\Documents and Settings\Battlefield 2>tracert 85.236.100.39

Tracing route to zeppo.multiplay.co.uk [85.236.100.39]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms . [192.168.1.1]
2 25 ms 29 ms 30 ms lo0-plusnet.ptn-ag2.plus.net [195.166.128.53]
3 26 ms 25 ms 25 ms ge1-0-0-204.ptn-gw1.plus.net [84.92.3.105]
4 25 ms 24 ms 24 ms gi1-1-22.ptn-gw5.plus.net [212.159.4.6]
5 25 ms 26 ms 26 ms lonap1.multiplay.co.uk [193.203.5.106]
6 26 ms 26 ms 26 ms zeppo.multiplay.co.uk [85.236.100.39]

Trace complete.

Please help.

And...MartinFamily, I'm not impressed by the rather rude, snappy reply you put in my original thread.

You could have put something like - "Sorry Benskia, I'm locking this thread...."

Incase you didn't realise, I do have better things to do than read every other ruddy post on this message board. I suggest you adopt a little more courteousness in your manner.
N/A

BF2 Connection issues

Hi benskia,

Have you read the post from Stew which I linked to above? The UserGroup article may also shed some light.

Might be worthwhile offering to get involved in some tests in an attempt to get to the bottom of this one.

As for not checking for previous or similar topics having been posted, it is part of the rules of the board that you check to see if the topic exists before posting. It simply means that issues are centralised and gives the community the opportunity to see if their issue has already been raised or is being dealt with.

makes it easier all round tbh. Smiley
LiamM
Grafter
Posts: 5,636
Registered: 12-08-2007

BF2 Connection issues

Quote
And...MartinFamily, I'm not impressed by the rather rude, snappy reply you put in my original thread.

You could have put something like - "Sorry Benskia, I'm locking this thread...."

Incase you didn't realise, I do have better things to do than read every other ruddy post on this message board. I suggest you adopt a little more courteousness in your manner.


I apologise benskia if I offended you, I was in a bit of a rush so I just pasted in the standard reply if I'm honest.

There is good reason for locking threads such as that. Keeping all posts in this thread makes for a better case and keeps all the info / problems in one place for Plusnet to follow.

If it helps, I too want to see the back of gaming issues. The problem here is that so many factors can cause problems so it's taking time. We're seeing peak time exchange contention causing a lot of grief at the moment.
N/A

BF2 Connection issues

well I have been playing the last couple of nights and have noticed a significant improvement, has been very enjoyable
here's hoping no sudden changes to upset the cart
N/A

BF2 Connection issues

Its all gone pear shaped again tonight. Pings are up and down like a yo-yo in CS:S. :roll: Every 10-20seconds its up in the hundreads of ms.

A WinMTR test to portal.pus.net....a number of lost packets at the last 2 hops.


|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| 192.168.1.2 - 0 | 132 | 132 | 0 | 0 | 16 | 0 |
| lo0-plusnet.pte-ag2.plus.net - 0 | 132 | 132 | 15 | 23 | 125 | 15 |
| ge0-0-0-503.pte-gw1.plus.net - 0 | 132 | 132 | 15 | 16 | 32 | 31 |
| atm1-0.ptb-gw1.plus.net - 0 | 132 | 132 | 15 | 20 | 32 | 31 |
| vlan18.pri.ptb-gw4.plus.net - 0 | 132 | 132 | 15 | 22 | 63 | 16 |
| if2.ptb-al1.plus.net - 5 | 132 | 126 | 15 | 23 | 62 | 15 |
| portal.plus.net - 4 | 132 | 127 | 15 | 22 | 47 | 31 |
|________________________________________________|______
N/A

BF2 Connection issues

Must agree - for my limited playing time, been back to ace for the last 2 nights.. Cool
N/A

BF2 Connection issues

Were does SSH fall into this frame work, I am getting terrible speeds on transfers from US/UK Servers to PN connection and great speeds from US to UK servers via direct connections.

http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/network/traffic_management.shtml
Damfoose
Grafter
Posts: 40
Registered: 27-09-2007

BF2 Connection issues

Well I have this trace for eve man it is rubbish I really hope the traffic shaping is fixed soon as im getting mighty peeved not being able to go pirate hunting because I get disconnected....


C:\>tracert 157.157.139.10

Tracing route to 157.157.139.10 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms damfoose15 [10.0.0.3]
2 25 ms 29 ms 29 ms lo0-plusnet.pte-ag2.plus.net [195.166.128.72]
3 28 ms 29 ms 29 ms ge0-0-0-503.pte-gw1.plus.net [84.92.4.81]
4 28 ms 29 ms 29 ms 195.50.117.169
5 28 ms 29 ms 29 ms ge-6-0.core1.London1.Level3.net [4.68.116.35]
6 27 ms 29 ms 29 ms DTAG-Level3.Level3.net [212.187.131.82]
7 28 ms 29 ms 29 ms linx-gw13.LON.GB.net.DTAG.DE [62.154.5.38]
8 27 ms 29 ms 29 ms 62.153.203.190
9 28 ms 29 ms 29 ms 157.157.62.10
10 28 ms 29 ms 29 ms ccp-Earth001.simnet.is [157.157.139.253]
11 28 ms 29 ms 29 ms 157.157.139.10

That is to the tranquility server in eve
11 piggin hops whats that about !!!!!!!!!!!!
N/A

BF2 Connection issues

Quote
That is to the tranquility server in eve
11 piggin hops whats that about !!!!!!!!!!!!

Only 3 are PN, cant blame them for how the whole rest of the internet is routed :s

Those pings look just fine to me btw and 11 hops is also not that extreme.