cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

At My wits end !!!! Ian Wild please help

N/A

I really don't know where to start !!!

I've been paying nearly £50 per month for two months now and have managed to view web pages for approx 10 minutes.

The first problem was that my line kept dropping on my Binatone modem which was supplied by Plusnet. I was told to purchase a Belkin 4 port USB hub which was linked in Plusnet's website and this resolved (I think) the power issue as my line light on the modem is always on now. All the lights are on on the USB hub indicating that there is power getting to this OK.

I connected the hub to my P.C and them the modem to the hub as instructed in the hope that this would fix the problem. Looking at both the hub and modem you would think things are fine but not so!!

I STILL can't get connected for any longer than a few minuets. I had a few error messages saying that my USB device was not recognised which could be part of the problem but at this moment in time my device manager is saying that all devices are recognised, my status tells me that I'm connected.

A few times my USB and modem just shut off completley and had to reboot. I know there may be issues with the USB not being recognised which is why I contacted BELKIN and one I found someone who could speak a few words of english (Dominic!!!!!!!!!) he informed me that the Belkin USB hub which has a link on the Plusnet website to purchase is not intended for broadband modems and is no use!!!

I have noticed from time to time that the green up and down arrows that are on my task bar are red and indicated that the DSL modem was not responding or something.

Second time I called I was told the extact same thing and that I have to tweak this and that, bios this Via chipsets that!!! I'm not a computer engineer and have no intention of ripping my P.C appart.