cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Anyone else seeing large amounts of unusual data.

N/A

Hi,

in 2 separate incidents this month over 4.7GB of data (in total) has appeared in my VMU that I cannot explain (I have never used 2GB in an entire month before). It does appear the that router has seen the data but nothing was connected to the ethernet port to generate it, my router does not support logging so I am a bit stuck.

It appears to be a lot of data aimed at my IP by something.

Anybody else seeing this or is it just me. If lots of people are having this issue then maybe its a bigger problem but if not then it must be related to my connection somehow.

Unfortunately plus net have told me its my responsibilty to prove I am not generating it and this is a real pain.

If I migrate to Nildram I can have a dynamic IP address again (hurray) but plusnet won't let me move to dynamic IP (boo).
19 REPLIES
N/A

Hi there,

This wont be a large problem, if you have a virus/trojan that is causing traffic to be direct at your IP then it will simply be directed at you, have you tried stinger?

http://vil.nai.com/vil/stinger/

Either that or someone is specifically targetting you.

Regards,

Rich
N/A

Bit confused

"Stinger is a stand-alone utility used to detect and remove specific viruses."

This is occurring when the broadband router is connected and nothing is connected LAN side. So there is no PC on the lan side to cause the traffic.

This was explained in the original post. Am I missing something?
N/A

Hi there,

I did miss that line in your post, for that I apologise. Have you tried an alternate router/a factory reset?