cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Am I being fobbed off by support?

N/A

Am i being fobbed off here?

I have recently set up my parents with plus.net they have gone for the 15quid a month capped 2gig download with a 2mg link.

My grip is my £23 contract is 1mg? I have since moved house and I could probably spit on the exchange from my new house yet I still have 1mg? (my aprents are further) Surely this is just a reprovision of the 1mg with BT? I have raised a query and the response was BT said the line wouldn't support speeds greater than 1mg. In order for me to get a 2mg I have to supply signal to noise ratio of the line (SNR)Huh?
ok i am a network engineer but my Linksys router isn't capable of supplying such stats (well not in the browser anyway) they referred me to the forums for help. I am starting to get really frustrated with PN now, this i feel is a fob off.

+ My downloads from usenext for the past month have been less than 10kbps yet downloads elsewhere (other websites) are perfect. Usenext is fine because a mate is using BT with no problems I used to get 120Kbps constant. I guess it PN traffic shaping, thanks. If things don't improve soon i'm going to go to Bulldog or Telewest. And they are cheaper.
5 REPLIES
N/A

What does the checker on http://www.bt.com/broadband give back as an *estimate* for your phone number?
N/A

If your line is deemed by BT to be incapable of faster than 1MB then you're pretty much stuck. The current ADSL provisioning system provisions lines at the faster speed they're capable of.

If you can persuade PN (for which you need line stats) they can try to get BT to regrade but might not have much success. BT's arguement is it is better to be slower and stable than fast and dropping sync etc... (and I think that's a valid arguement).
N/A

What does the checker on http://www.bt.com/broadband give back as an *estimate* for your phone number?