cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A few questions from a journalist

N/A

I'll lay my cards on the table straight away here: I'm a PlusNet customer and I also work as a journalist on a national newspaper – two if you count our Sunday edition.

I'm one of the people who have had the dreaded warning email about going over the 20gig peak-time limit for this month.

I'm a medium-heavy user, I admit that but when the original limits first came in back at the end of the summer I changed my downloading habits, cut out the 4-12 peak-time downloads and games and mainly used the connection during the day.

Out of the blue, I get an email informing me that my connection is now capped during the day until the end of my billing cycle.

I'm not necessarily against the changes – I can live with the midnight-8am off-peak hours, even though they're inconvenient and will welcome the return of the 8am-4pm off-peak allegedly at the end of Feb. My point is, how can a company impose a rule retrospectively? If I'd been notified of the temporary changes which are running until the end of Feb, I would have stuck to them.

I spoke to our tech editor today and he couldn't believe it. As I said to him, when the government brings in the public ban on smoking, people who have ever smoked in public will not be arrested, merely those who do it from that point on. Not only that but the law will be advertised and people will be notified, it won't just be pasted up on a notice board for people to find and then be punished if they're unfortunate enough to have missed it. Why weren't people emailed, warning them what would happen?

He told me he was looking into writing a new-age of broadband piece for an upcoming edition in any case – about the 8meg / 24meg rollout and so on.