cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2nd hop in trace rt to plus.net up over 100

blaze30682
Grafter
Posts: 113
Registered: 03-08-2007

2nd hop in trace rt to plus.net up over 100

this seems to be part of the cause of the lag.

i have sent tracert results in a ticket.

only started around 20:30 , earlier on today the where below 30 on 2nd hop and highest was 38.

anyone else getting same results?
18 REPLIES
passer
Grafter
Posts: 381
Registered: 06-04-2007

2nd hop in trace rt to plus.net up over 100

Yep - same here. Hop to pte-ag2 up over 125, all others between 18 and 30. Speed showing at 500-600, compared to a normal 1900.

Obviously not connected with any recent maintenance work on the Ellacoyas, otherwise they'd have told us...wouldn't they?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,206
Thanks: 898
Fixes: 54
Registered: 15-06-2007

2nd hop in trace rt to plus.net up over 100

same here 146ms to pte-ag1 then about 40ms for the rest (interleaved)
N/A

2nd hop in trace rt to plus.net up over 100

Hmm im matching this too....

109 as i got ptn-ag1.plus.net (195.166.128.123)

then the rest shoot down to 17, 22, 19, 20 etc.


Although quite funnily, if i try for the ccgi servers then i get:-

62 - ptn-ag1.plus.net 195.166.128.123
24 ptn-gw1.plus.net 84.92.3.17
Then it times out completely Cheesy
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,229
Thanks: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

2nd hop in trace rt to plus.net up over 100

Got sick of 150ms pings and <1mb on pte-ag1 so restarted adsl and got ptn-ag1; immediate improvement but within minutes back down to same as before. all about same time as you guys too.
blaze30682
Grafter
Posts: 113
Registered: 03-08-2007

2nd hop in trace rt to plus.net up over 100

23:05

all hops under 38 now.

could be over crowding on the routers? or maybe some kind of throttling at mid peak time?
N/A

2nd hop in trace rt to plus.net up over 100

Strangely ag1 (hop2) now gives 17 !

Ok it falls over at london1.level3.net to 198 but i cant really complain to plus about that :p
blaze30682
Grafter
Posts: 113
Registered: 03-08-2007

2nd hop in trace rt to plus.net up over 100

was up till 3am playing my game online, with very little if any lag at all.

only seems to lag around mid peak time.

i am monitoring this and sending tickets under feed back, if anyone can do this also plse do, may help find a problem and get it solved.
N/A

2nd hop in trace rt to plus.net up over 100

On Xbox Live last night with some mates, one with PN and the other two with Metronet and at approx 21.42 it lagged to 999.
I was on PTN-AG2 but others seemed little better Cry
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,817
Thanks: 11
Registered: 30-07-2007

2nd hop in trace rt to plus.net up over 100

this also discussed in this thread, where there are examples to copy into your replies to PN.



http://portal.plus.net/central/forums/viewtopic.php?t=47641&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=225
blaze30682
Grafter
Posts: 113
Registered: 03-08-2007

2nd hop in trace rt to plus.net up over 100

had lag today from 12:00noon.

so not because of peak, but it is worse in peak.

checked exchange showing green both last night when lagging and today.

tested dod last night , ping no higher than 67 while dead, 54 while alive and fighting.

going to test it again tonight.
blaze30682
Grafter
Posts: 113
Registered: 03-08-2007

2nd hop in trace rt to plus.net up over 100

15:30 approx:

lag making online gaming impossible.

2nd hop upto 50-60s.

exchange showing green.

tbh i recon it either throtling of some sort or the routers are getting over crowded just before and up till near end of peak time.

p.s

has anyone managed to connect to ptn-ag1 ? or dosent it exsist?

can get on ptn-ag2 and pte-ag1 an 2 but never ptn-ag1.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,229
Thanks: 1
Registered: 12-04-2007

2nd hop in trace rt to plus.net up over 100

ptn-ag1 - LLU only
ptn-ag2 - both LLU and BT
pte-ag1 - BT only
pte-ag2 - BT only
thn-ag1 - BT only
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,229
Thanks: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

2nd hop in trace rt to plus.net up over 100

my first hop (after my own router, and according to my router my default gw) is ptn-ag1 and i'm not LLU
blaze30682
Grafter
Posts: 113
Registered: 03-08-2007

2nd hop in trace rt to plus.net up over 100

1st hop mygateway
2nd ptn-ag2