cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why does forum have a time out error?

shalom2010
Grafter
Posts: 982
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎28-12-2012

Why does forum have a time out error?

I've noticed that whenever I upload a photo (even a tiny one) I get a timeout error, although when checking for my post it is there fine. See attached.
15 REPLIES 15
Strat
Community Veteran
Posts: 31,320
Thanks: 1,609
Fixes: 565
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Why does forum have a time out error?

Many people including myself have commented on the slow upload of attachments to posts.
I haven't had a time-out so far.
Windows 10 Firefox 109.0 (64-bit)
To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
shalom2010
Grafter
Posts: 982
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎28-12-2012

Re: Why does forum have a time out error?

Well I get the error saying I've clicked twice when I have not. Using Chrome, I'll have to see if I get it on IE10.
shalom2010
Grafter
Posts: 982
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎28-12-2012

Re: Why does forum have a time out error?

Only happens on latest Chrome version 28!
ejs
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 5,442
Thanks: 631
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: Why does forum have a time out error?

I usually get a timeout when attaching something, although it posts successfully. Also a lot of ACK,FIN packets from 84.93.230.186 and 84.93.230.178 end up hitting my router's firewall. Possibly the router's timeout for that is 30 seconds.
shutter
Community Veteran
Posts: 22,199
Thanks: 3,767
Fixes: 64
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: Why does forum have a time out error?

It takes a while for me to upload pics.. ( even tho I have reduced the file size to kbs)... so I usually open another session of PN Forum, and check it has been uploaded... it usually has, but still does not "end" the "post" session on the other (original) window....
ejs
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 5,442
Thanks: 631
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: Why does forum have a time out error?

Test uploading attachment (typical day of adsl stats featuring thunder, REIN and SHINE).
Edit: of course it didn't time out this time.
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,859
Thanks: 4,931
Fixes: 315
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Why does forum have a time out error?

We think this might be something to do with the configuration of the load balancer that sits in front of the Community Site servers. We're going to make some changes today to see if there's any improvement. I'll bump this thread once the work's complete.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

shalom2010
Grafter
Posts: 982
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎28-12-2012

Re: Why does forum have a time out error?

Thanks for the update Bob
picbits
Rising Star
Posts: 3,432
Thanks: 23
Registered: ‎18-01-2013

Re: Why does forum have a time out error?

Test upload from me to test as I've been having the same issue - I use a tp-link router and Firefox
*Edit - of course that also worked for my that time  Grin
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,859
Thanks: 4,931
Fixes: 315
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Why does forum have a time out error?

Change was made around 2pm.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

ejs
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 5,442
Thanks: 631
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: Why does forum have a time out error?

I've had firefox waiting for ages the last couple of times I've uploaded more than one image attached to a forum post in the last couple of days.
Mav
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 22,318
Thanks: 4,714
Fixes: 513
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Why does forum have a time out error?

Quote from: shutter
It takes a while for me to upload pics.. ( even tho I have reduced the file size to kbs)... so I usually open another session of PN Forum, and check it has been uploaded... it usually has, but still does not "end" the "post" session on the other (original) window....

Just noticed this thread and that's a +1 for me.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Why does forum have a time out error?

Still an ongoing problem, many months now.
I always open two windows when posting with attachments.
Promises before from PN, still not sorted.
Up to 30 minutes wait sometimes before posting is acknowledged in original window.
(Auto spell check just gave me........ Posing in a Window !!!)
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Why does forum have a time out error?

Still causes me problems EVERY TIME !  Angry